Greek Pasta Salad

June 26, 2010 at 9:31 pm 7 comments

I almost had a Pregnant Lady Meltdown today.  It all began with olives.  Doesn’t it always? 😉

After waking up at 6:30 am, grocery shopping, making Protein Pancakes for me, then making them for husband (batter was already made but I had to cook them), and THEN making a pasta salad to bring to the family function today, I almost lost my marbles when the following happened almost simultaneously:

1.  The black olives I bought for the salad still had pits in them!  I thought I bought the kind that had been pitted.

2.  The cream for the coffee went bad.  It curdled in husband’s coffee.  I NEED cream in my coffee.  Milk is just not even worth it.

I just felt so irrational, but I was SO UPSET by these combined events.  There was whining, much whining.  Luckily, husband ran out quickly (very quickly, there was a cloud of dust behind him!) to go out and get me coffee WITH cream.  As for the olives, I just composted them and called it a day.  Boo to that!

The salad turned out decently regardless, I think.  Check it out:

Greek Pasta Salad

  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tsps garlic powder
  • 1 1/2 tsps dried basil
  • 1 1/2 tsps dried oregano
  • 3/4 tsps ground black pepper
  • 3/4 tsps white sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups cooked pasta (I chose whole wheat penne)
  • 3 cups fresh sliced mushrooms
  • 2 tomatoes, diced
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 English cucumber, diced
  • 3/4 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 1 can whole black olives OR NOT

1.  In a large bowl, whisk together the oil, vinegar, garlic powder, oregano, basil, black pepper and sugar.

2.  Add remaining ingredients and toss until evenly coated.

3.  Cover and chill for at least two hours or overnight.

It’s a nice, refreshing salad and pretty healthy to boot!

So my PLM (Pregnant Lady Meltdown) was averted by the coffee and Self magazine.  Then I made an awesome lunch.  It satisfied me in multiple ways.  (That sounds a bit perverted).

This includes a Green Monster made with:

  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 cup of frozen mango
  • 1 cup of 1% milk
  • Loads of baby spinach

Along with a slice of Blueberry Oat bread with almond butter, and 20 or so baby carrots.  I now get my jollies from eating brightly coloured food, so eating both the bright green smoothie and the orange carrots pleased me to no end.

I packed a Peanut Butter Larabar to have as an afternoon snack since I knew we’d be away from home all afternoon.

Source of picture

This is not my picture, although I wish I had eaten it by the pool!

I also ate four crackers with this pesto like spinach spread made by my mother-in-law.  Delicious!

For dinner, I had a myriad of salads and a whole wheat bun with butter.  Trying to explain why I was taking pictures of my food was just not working.  My brother-in-law made some fun.  Husband keeps calling this blog Fit ‘n’ Frugal.  It’s FRUGAL ‘N’ FIT!!!!  Ahem 😉

On this plate, there is some quinoa and bean salad, some roasted vegetables, strawberry salad, my pasta salad, and one slice of potato

Dessert was delicious because it was semi-healthy.  I had a cup of coffee with vanilla creamer, and two of these awesome fruit skewers:

And a piece of spice cake.  This would have benefitted from cream cheese icing (wouldn’t everything in life?!), but I’m glad it didn’t have it in the end.  Very light and satisfying.

I am now feeling peck-ish but the world of food blogging has a way of helping one prevent nibbling, if for no other reason than I am too lazy to take any more pictures today!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Protein Pancakes Sunday Morning

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. land animal  |  June 26, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    awww what a cute little meltdown! just breathe, just breathe 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 27, 2010 at 8:49 am

      Breathing would have come in handy in the heat of the moment! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Helena  |  June 26, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    I so know the pregnancy meltdowns. I had them alot with my first one and is starting to have them again now at 6 months.

    Today I felt like crying when my husband asked me to say something again = he obviously wasn’t listening the first time 😉 and then again when my son threw a a ball and it landed on my head. You know, big things like that…

    Your pasta salad was probably better without the olives, it looks delicious. Hope you’re feeling better!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 27, 2010 at 8:50 am

      I didn’t know you were pregnant. Congrats! Do you have a blog? I am all about reading about other pregnant lady’s experiences right now 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  June 27, 2010 at 8:42 am

    Sometimes I have PLMs like that, and I’m not even pregnant 😉 Glad the hubs helped to avert crisis! Sounds like he’s a keeper 🙂

    Your pasta salad still looked great! I love the idea of the fruit skewers too, might have to steal that for a future date.

    And I have to admit that I’ve also called your blog Fit n’ Frugal! Too many F’s for my little brain lol.

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 27, 2010 at 8:52 am

      PLMs can also be referred to as HLMs (Hormonal Lady Meltdowns), of which we are ALL familiar! 😉

      Reply
  • […] orange pepper, tomato, and zucchini.  For a dressing, I used the recipe I use when I make my Greek Pasta Salad.  Not bad for winging […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

