Dessert for Breakfast

June 25, 2010 at 8:27 am 8 comments

After a breakfast like this, all I can say is “HUMINA”.

Let us all join together for a communal “HUMINA”.

I mean, check this puppy out!

This decadent concoction consists of:

  • 1 cup pitted cherries, frozen
  • 1 banana, sliced and frozen
  • 1 cup of 1% milk
  • 1 Tbsp of cocoa powder

It was like eating dessert for breakfast!  It was the consistency of ice cream, so much so that I added a tad bit more milk.  Looking back, I wish I hadn’t because I loved how thick it got.  Imagine you added Xantham Gum to this guy?  Wow, is all I can say!

There was an additional 1/3rd still left in the blender!

I had it with a slice of Blueberry Oat bread, thereby transforming this breakfast into one of The Best Ever.

I warmed the bread in the toaster oven, which was especially nice after the freezing cold Chocolate Cherry Bomb

And to top it off, I didn’t even buy a coffee today because I think I got my “caffeine high” from the cocoa powder.  Kind of crazy!

Because of this, and because it’s Friday (TGIF!), and because I only have to work a 1/2 day, and because the G20 summit has made Toronto traffic practically non-existent, I am in a great mood.  Check out my subway ride this morning!

Where are all of the people?  I don’t care, I hope they don’t come back! 🙂

To top off this joyous post, here are more good things:

  • As previously mentioned, I only work a 1/2 day today (It’s a perk of the job; we only work half days on Friday though the summer).  Because of this, I’ll be able to hit up my local farmer’s market for the first time this season!  I am praying for local strawberries or, dare I wish, cherries?
  • Tonight we’re buying paint for the baby’s room!
  • It is a beautiful day out
  • Looking forward to seeing family tomorrow
  • Did I mention I had the most delicious breakfast this morning?
Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Two Recipes! Early to lunch, early to leave

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather (Perspective Is Everything)  |  June 25, 2010 at 8:28 am

    that breakfast does look purty darn amazing. i think i may have to get me some cherries, pronto! 😀
    have fun at the farmer’s market!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 25, 2010 at 11:25 am

      I am going to be on a hunt for cheap cherries this weekend. Wish me luck!

      Reply
  • 3. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  June 25, 2010 at 8:57 am

    It looks like the city completely cleared out for the summit LOL. Your breakfast looks great! Happy Friday 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 25, 2010 at 11:26 am

      I love the city when it’s empty of people. This makes me question whether I should be living in a city 😉

      Reply
  • 5. Jill@everydayoriginal  |  June 25, 2010 at 9:46 am

    Just found your blog and I love it!

    Definite YAY for 1/2 days! Hope you find some goodies at the farmers market. I got the most delicious zucchini at mine last week. yum!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 25, 2010 at 11:26 am

      Thanks! I see you are new to the blogging world, too. Welcome 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Vivian  |  June 25, 2010 at 11:08 am

    It’s pretty bizarre to see the TTC empty like that on a workday morning!

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 25, 2010 at 11:27 am

      It totally is! I could have sprawled out and had a nap if I wanted 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

