Chocolate Cherry Bomb Redux

June 25, 2010 at 8:31 pm Leave a comment

My joyous day of good tidings was partially obstructed by a delay on the subway this afternoon.  I was so excited to make it home by 1:00 pm, but a good portion of the subway was closed down due to an accident at track level (yikes!).  I didn’t want to wait with the masses for a shuttle bus, so I took an alternative route which encompasses a long streetcar ride, a climb up a big hill, and a bus ride.  I made it up the hill alright, but the bus never came!  I ended up having to hoof it home.  My reward was a lot of self-pity and a blueberry parfait for a snack:

This contains:

  • 3/4 cup fresh  blueberries
  • 1/2 cup plain non-fat yogurt
  • Sprinkle of granola
  • Drizzle of honey

I was feeling tired and made the mistake of thinking more food would wake me up, so I had a slice of Blueberry Oat bread.

38 seconds after consuming this, I had a nap on the couch 🙂

Husband came home from work and we ventured to the farmer’s market.  It’s a wee tiny one, and there was only one booth selling any fresh vegetables!  I was kind of bummed, but we bought:

  • Strawberries – A pint for $4
  • Mixed sweet peppers – 4 for $4
  • Asparagus – $5
  • 5 tomatoes – $4

Husband also bought a dozen fresh, mini donuts.  I tried one but it left a funny aftertaste.  They said they were made with coconut oil, and I wondered if this could have an affect?

When I came home, I prepared this and popped it into the freezer:

I smell an addiction.

But, first, I made dinner!  I was hoping to be able to post the recipe here, but it didn’t turn out so great.

I made “pasta with broccoli and sweet peppers” that called for a light creamy sauce made with milk.  In the few times I’ve tried making creamy sauce using milk, it’s never worked out!  I think lots of cream and cheese is necessary for a truly delicious sauce.  Unfortunately.

I had such high hopes for you, Whole Wheat Rotini

At this point, I was still holding out hope

Objects in bowl appear tastier than they actually are

I’m being a bit tough.  It wasn’t awful, by any means.  I will eat the leftovers, but I just wouldn’t make it again.

Thankfully, dessert was the saving grace!

I talked about the Chocolate Cherry Bomb to husband for, oh, all afternoon.  I decided to make a less liquid-y version and serve it like ice cream.  For two servings, I used:

  • 1 cup + of pitted, frozen cherries
  • 1 banana, sliced and frozen
  • 3/4 cup of 1% milk
  • 1 tablespoon of cocoa

I ended up adding a splash of soy milk (ran out of regular milk!) and a bit of water because my blender was having a tough time blending this up.  Maybe I should try the food processor next time?  But it turned out very well.  I sprinkled some chocolate chips on top for a “sundae affect”.

Tomorrow is grocery day!  That’s an exciting event in this household.  I will probably buy the store’s entire supply of cherries 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Early to lunch, early to leave Protein Pancakes

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

