Good morning, Greens!

June 24, 2010 at 8:23 am 10 comments

A sight for sore eyes!

After my green-less dinner last night, I knew I just HAD to have a Green Monster for breakfast.  It was a necessity!   I made this one using:

  • 1/2 banana – 15 cents
  • 1 cup of soy milk – 50 cents
  • 1 cup of frozen mango – 75 cents
  • Spinach up the wazoo – 75 cents  (I used a LOT)

Total for Green Monster Goodness = $2.15

That’s expensive for a homemade GM, but very inexpensive compared to any fresh smoothie you can buy from Booster Juice or Jamba Juice.

I had it along with my last toasted whole wheat and flax bagel with cream cheese:

Groovy angle

I think the bagel and cream cheese probably cost about 75 cents, bringing this entire breakfast to $3.00.  One of the more expensive breakfasts in my repertoire, but a nice change!  It was great to get those greens in.

Well, it’s another rainy day here in T.O.  Did you hear we had an earthquake yesterday?!!?  I was on my computer at work (where you can find me, 98% of the time!), and my monitor began to shake.  In my five years of working here, I have never had it shake.  Then I noticed the floors were shaking and I could hear a rattling sound.  I went into the hallway and my coworkers were scrambling out of their offices.  We were all half freaking out/half giddy with excitement.  It was actually kind of fun!  I know, I shouldn’t say an earthquake is fun, but it was a nice little diversion from the usual office routine.  But no more, please and thank you.

Also, the G20 summit is taking place in downtown Toronto this weekend!  The fun is just not stopping here in Southern Ontario!  🙂  I live on the outskirts of eastern Toronto, so I shouldn’t be affected too much.  Tomorrow is a half day at work (holla!) and then on Saturday we are driving up to my in-laws.  There will be “rolling closures” on the major highways, so I hope we don’t get stuck in one of those!  Aside from that, I am hunkering low.  You will find me in my basement, covered in blankets, watching re-runs of Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

H20 Late lunch

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather (Perspective Is Everything)  |  June 24, 2010 at 9:32 am

    earthquakes are kinda exciting when they’re short lived and rare, huh?
    i’ve experienced a couple and it’s such a weird sensation!
    love DD&D 🙂
    99.9% of the food they show i can’t eat, but i still love it!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 24, 2010 at 2:57 pm

      You’d think as a vegetarian I wouldn’t be into DD&D, but I totally am! I even just like watching my husband watch it. He salivates!

      Reply
  • 3. Susan  |  June 24, 2010 at 9:52 am

    Haha, I was on the 10th floor and actually concerned the building was going to collapse. Or worse, the building was going to collapse and I would be trapped in my sweaty gym clothes 😛

    If all goes well, I will successfully miss the G20 summit in Toronto, AND the madness that is Canada Day in Ottawa. The fun really does never stop in Ontario, doesn’t it?

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 24, 2010 at 2:58 pm

      It’s wild times in Ontario, that is for sure! 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. land animal  |  June 24, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    Ok I was barred from the kitchen cause it was being clean and I hadn’t had my green smoothie yet today. When I saw your post I practically went insane! I begged the cleaning guy to let me invade his work space for a min to make one. He was really cool about it though (probably because I always send him home with baked goods!) and now I have my green smoothie. Crisis averted. Greens are a sight for sore eyes!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 24, 2010 at 2:58 pm

      I know that feeling! When you crave the green goodness, you just gotta have it. Glad your crisis was averted! 🙂

      Reply
      • 7. land animal  |  June 24, 2010 at 10:12 pm

        tomorrow i’m adding fresh sprouted quinoa to the mix!

      • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 25, 2010 at 8:16 am

        Nice! Let me know how that goes.

  • 9. Therese  |  June 24, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    Mmm…Green Monsters!!!

    I actually find earthquakes (of the non-tragic sort) to be fascinating and fun! When I lived in Japan I thought they were the COOLEST thing! Such a strange experience for the ground to actually MOVE beneath you!

    I’m heading out of town this weekend as well and I’m very grateful! I’ll be so glad when this is DONE!

    Reply
    • 10. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 24, 2010 at 2:59 pm

      I agree, non-tragic earthquakes are definitely amusing. It perked up the work day, that is for sure!

      What are they going to talk about on the news after this G20 thing is over? 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

