What an hour can do

June 23, 2010 at 8:41 am 8 comments

Husband had to leave for work at 7:30 am this morning which is unprecedented for the line of work he’s in (television), so I was able to score a ride to the subway!  Furthermore, I was able to leave home a full 25 minutes later than usual which meant that I had plenty of time to make an awesome breakfast.  If I have time to spare, I will almost always make something hot for breakfast (except for last weekend, when I was feeling the Bagel Love).

Today it was eggs, toast, and fruit — a balanced breakfast if there ever was one.

  • 1 egg and 1/4 cup egg whites
  • two pieces of whole wheat toast with margarine
  • fruit salad consisting of 4 sliced strawberries, 1/2 sliced banana, handful of blueberries, large handful of grapes

Stuffed was I

Estimated cost of breakfast:

  • Eggs and egg white – 50 cents
  • Toast – 25 cents
  • Fruit – 90 cents
  • Margarine – 5 cents

Total – $1.70

I have a conundrum on my hands.  This is the type of conundrum that only weirdos like me have.  I usually eat my lunch at 11 am ON THE DOT.  I am like a robot that way.  But today, I’m in a meeting from 11 am – 1 pm.  My options are:

  • Eat beforehand, at like 10:30 am (yes, this is lunch we’re talking about)
  • Eat after, at 1:00 pm when you will be so hungry you want to gnaw an arm
  • Have a large snack at 10:30.  This is a great option IF I had packed a large snack.  Whoops.

I think I am going to have to go with option #1.  Yes, I am going to be that weird girl in the office who is eating lunch at 10:30 am.  At least I have the pregnancy as an excuse!  Ladies, pregnancy is an excellent excuse for almost anything.  Even if it has nothing to do with pregnancy, just blame the pregnancy and no one will fault you for it.  I promise.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Betty Crocker I’ll have a Grilled Cheese Burger Melt with a side of heart attack, please!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristen @ Change of Pace  |  June 23, 2010 at 8:53 am

    Eggs and toast are my ultimate breakfast. They keep me full and make me feel like I’m having more than just a bowl of cereal.

    I would have a snack at 10:30 and a snack at 1:00 if it were me. However, I’ve been super hungry with this pregnancy so I’d probably even need a snack in between.

    I’d just say you get 2 lunches that day haha 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 23, 2010 at 9:51 am

      It is 9:50 am and I’m not even a little hungry yet. I underestimated how filling the eggs would be! I am thinking of having a snack at 10:30 am and hope for the best until 1. Wish me luck! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Heather (Perspective Is Everything)  |  June 23, 2010 at 11:18 am

    breakkie always seems to be the cheapest meal, no? looks good.

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 23, 2010 at 1:03 pm

      I think so too! I should calculate the costs of my lunches and dinner and see how they compare!

      Reply
  • 5. Mel  |  June 23, 2010 at 11:39 am

    I have that same problem tonight – teaching a class from 4:30-6:30. I usually have dinner at 5. When am I supposed to eat dinner?!?!?

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 23, 2010 at 1:04 pm

      Since I am an early diner, I would eat beforehand and then have a substantial snack afterward. I am already obsessed with timely eating, but now being pregnant I am even more obsessed. Hell hath no fury like a hungry pregnant woman!!!

      Reply
  • 7. Allison  |  June 23, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    I think it’s perfectly appropriate to eat lunch at 10:30, I did this often when I was pregnant! In fact, I would eat 2 light lunches several times a week throughout my first and second trimesters!

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 23, 2010 at 1:04 pm

      I did end up eating at 10:30 and am glad I did! By 12:30 pm, my stomach was already grumbling again. I think this baby is going to weigh 25 pounds (oh my, should I even be joking about something like that?!!?).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

