Summer Plans

June 22, 2010 at 8:49 am 4 comments

Good morning ladies!  (And gents?  I always assume I am talking to a big group of girlfriends when I write these!)

It is another beautiful day in Toronto, although they are forecasting rain.  I brought my umbrella, so I’m set.  Did you do anything to celebrate the summer solstice yesterday?  I sat in my basement and watched TV, and then drove husband to the subway station just after 9:00 pm.  It was no Druid celebration at Stonehenge, but it was something!

For breakfast today, I mixed it up a little bit and introduced a food I haven’t yet featured on this blog:  cottage cheese!  I am a huge fan of cottage cheese, in the same vein that I’m a huge fan of Greek yogurt.  For not many calories and a whole lot of deliciousness, you get a real protein punch.  For a 1/2 cup serving of 1% cottage cheese, you get around:

  • 100 calories
  • 2 grams of fat
  • 14 grams of protein!
  • Unfortunately, you also get 450 mg of sodium which is about 20% of the recommended daily intake

You win some, you lose some.

I love pairing cottage cheese with pineapple or strawberries.  Today was strawberries!

5 sliced strawberries with 1/2 cup of cottage cheese

I had this along with a toasted wheat and flax bagel spread with margarine.

Dairy, protein, carbs, and fruit.  Done and…done!

Now let’s see how long this keeps me full!

I estimate this meal’s cost at:

  • Strawberries – 50 cents
  • Cottage cheese – 65 cents
  • Bagel – 50 cents
  • Margarine – 5 cents

Total – $1.70

Since summer is officially HERE (Thank you Lord!!!), do you have any travel plans? I was thinking of going away for a few days to Montreal this summer, but I want to save my vacation days to tack on to my upcoming maternity leave, and, as usual, I want to save some money.

There is talk with my husband’s family (his parents, brother, brother’s wife, and 3 nieces and nephews) about taking a trip down to Pennsylvania in August to go to Grove City for a weekend of tax-free shopping!  I’d only need to take 1 or 2 days off, and traveling with family makes the trip less expensive (sharing the cost of gas especially!).  Of course, I make no promises about frugal living when it comes to tax-free outlet shopping!!   We shall see what happens.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Portion Distortion Surprise, surprise

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angie  |  June 22, 2010 at 10:55 am

    That is one mighty fine looking bowl there you know 😉

    Reply
  • 3. Amanda C  |  June 23, 2010 at 8:51 am

    I was wondering what your plans were. If you do end up coming to Montreal let me know and I’ll give you more useful advice than the pictures I posted. Of course it’s totally understandable if you want to keep those days to extend your maternity leave, and tax-free shopping? Sounds like a good idea to me!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 23, 2010 at 9:49 am

      I will definitely let you know if we change our minds. Montreal does appeal to me a lot, and not because of all the French bakeries 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

