Betty Crocker

June 22, 2010 at 7:00 pm 6 comments

I was totally not in the mood to cook dinner tonight.  We were planning BBQ but the rain was off-and-on all afternoon.  It was off by the time we got home from work, but I just wanted a can of soup.  How boring, eh?

But first, I had an afternoon snack of grapes and a Fibre 1 bar.

I was totally starving when I got in the door.  I had a handful of crackers and decided to go with my gut and make soup.  I had a can of Campbell’s cream of mushroom soup along with one slice of yesterday’s Mexican Baked Tofu.  It was surprisingly filling!

I was particularly impressed because my soup flavour matched my soup mug.  Hey, it’s the little things in life, right? 🙂

I much prefer to say “champignon” to “mushroom”, as pretentious as that may be!

I am loving this tofu recipe.  Quickly re-heated in the microwave, and this entire meal was ready in 5 minutes!

By 5:20 pm, I was already finished dinner.  I have to admit, I was feeling a bit “blah” when I got home from work.  My day went fine, but when I got home I just felt exhausted and moody.  Lucky husband!

Then I got the genius idea of making something fun for dessert.  No, I did not have any energy to make dinner.  But somehow, some way, I managed to find the reserves of energy to make apple crisp!

How can you go wrong with apple crisp?  The answer is:  you can’t.  Even though it’s more of an “autumnal” dish, I can, and will, eat apple crisp year-round.  I bought a bag of apples at the grocery store on the weekend for $3.00 so the timing was perfect.

Apple crisp recipes are a dime a dozen, so to make life easiest on me, I decided to consult the oldest cookbook in my collection.  That is, Betty Crocker!

When in doubt, talk to Betty

This was the very first cookbook I ever used.  Published in the 1960s, I learned to make my first chocolate chip cookies and my first chocolate cake all by the guidance of Ms. Crocker during the days of my youth!  The cookbook was my mom’s so I left it when I moved out.  About 4 years later, Husband’s mom gave me her copy because she had a duplicate.  Just flipping through the pages brought me right back to those rainy Saturday afternoons in the early ’90s, when I was an overweight, freckled, permed 9 year old wearing my New Kids on the Block sweatshirt and ready to bake something up!

This is the book to consult if you want just a plain, simple recipe.  Banana bread, chicken pot pie, or apple crisp!

It even has a guide to cheese!

I followed the apple crisp recipe almost exactly, except I used 6 apples instead of 4.

Plain, simple, delicious

I am excited to have some along with a cup of tea.  Tonight’s special feature is The September Issue!  I am ready to relax with my apple crisp and learn about the exotic life of Anna Wintour.  A good way to spend a Tuesday, I think.

Come to mama

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Surprise, surprise What an hour can do

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristen @ Change of Pace  |  June 22, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    I’ve actually never had tofu… It scares me! That recipe looks really good though… I’ll have to try it 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 23, 2010 at 8:29 am

      I think this is a great introductory recipe. The tofu has a nice texture when baked and the toppings are very flavourful!

      Reply
  • 3. Amanda C  |  June 23, 2010 at 8:48 am

    I have a friend who swears by Betty Crocker! Her dad (a now deceased pastry chef) swore by it too.

    Saying champignon is not pretentious, it’s celebrating both official languages 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 23, 2010 at 9:49 am

      I like the retro factor in the Betty Crocker, too. Some of the pictures are really disgusting!

      Reply
  • 5. Therese  |  June 23, 2010 at 10:46 am

    Ohh!!! How was The September Issue?! I was intrigued by it!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 23, 2010 at 1:05 pm

      It was really good! I love magazines so was curious to see the “behind the scenes”. I was more interested in a secondary character called Grace, rather than Anna Wintour. She seemed to have real passion for fashion without being smug and pretentious. Definitely recommend it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

