Portion Distortion

June 21, 2010 at 7:16 pm 2 comments

I am sitting here, sipping on my tea, eating from a dessert plate (I smell a new addiction!), and watching NBC news where they are talking about how portions have increased over the last 50 years.  Dinner plates used to be 9 inches wide.  Now, they are typically 12 inches!  This means that people pile up way more food because there is room for it.  The eyes are bigger than the stomach (until the stomach catches up!)  They say that the average size of a woman’s waist has increased by 7 inches in that time.  It’s kind of incredible, and also a bit depressing.

On that note!

For an afternoon snack, I was so happy I packed two snacks.  I was starving, which is is a common occurrence in my life lately.  Let’s blame the growing baby and not the growing appetite, ok? 😉

I had some cherries…

And a Kashi dark chocolate and cherry granola bar.

I remember the days that this flavour of Kashi bar was only available in the States.  No longer, my friends.  No longer!

I think about a millisecond of time passed between taking this picture and taking a bite.  Chocolate chips call to me.

(The lighting in my office is really atrocious)

I was anxious to get home for dinner because I knew what I wanted to make:  Mexican Baked Tofu.  Ever since Therese at Life’s Tasty Adventures made it, I’ve been waiting for the day to make it myself.  Today was that day!

I followed her directions almost exactly, except instead of using cracker crumbs and nutritional yeast, I just used shredded cheddar.  In an oiled pan, I placed the four slices of tofu, covered them in salsa, about 1/2 a can of black beans, a bit of frozen corn, and some shredded cheddar.

I was pretty excited about this with good reason!

I had one slice along with some steamed asparagus and half of a baked sweet potato (left over from Saturday).  It was a delicious, simple recipe.  I ended up using 1/2 a can of black beans so I will use the other half as a topping for my lunch salads the rest of the week.  The Beauty of Salads:  You Can Put Almost Anything On Top (including loaf!).

Time for my new favourite hobby:  Figuring out how much this costs!

  • 1/2 sweet potato – 40 cents
  • Asparagus – 75 cents
  • Tofu – 60 cents
  • Salsa – 25 cents
  • Black beans – 10 cents (wow!  I’m impressed)
  • Cheese – 25 cents
  • Cinnamon – 2 cents

Grand total for one serving of dinner: $2.42

Dessert was such a hit yesterday that I thought to recreate it today, but I switched up a few components.  This is for two:

Chocolate wafers, blueberries, sliced peach, strawberries, unroasted almonds

A bit healthier today because last night I went to bed with one FULL stomach.  These cookies are great because they only have about 32 calories each.  Score!

I am now going to spend the rest of the night watching too much television.  Later players!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Loaf Salad Summer Plans

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  June 21, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    Hey! Glad you liked the recipe! Also glad you used black beans, it definitely called for that!

    Portion sizes these days are inSANE and Canadian sizes aren’t even as big as some American sizes! This is why I normally eat off of dessert plates at home and if I’m at a buffet I take the dessert plates to fill up.

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 21, 2010 at 8:02 pm

      Thanks for the recipe. It’s going in “the book”! 🙂

      An American friend visited me last summer and commented that Canadian portions are smaller. She much preferred it so she didn’t feel like she was wasting so much food! Using a dessert plate at a buffet is a great idea. The psychology behind eating is really fascinating, eh?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

