Loaf Salad

June 21, 2010 at 12:11 pm 6 comments

That sounds disgusting, doesn’t it?  “Loaf Salad”.  But I do declare that putting a slice of Vegan Lentil Walnut Loaf on one’s salad is a great way to get in some extra protein, flavour, and change from having the same salad day in and day out…

For a morning snack, I ate a peach!  These were on sale for 99 cents a pound this week, so I bought 5.  I can’t wait until they’re local!

For lunch, the aforementioned Loaf Salad.  Now with more loaf!

And for dessert, four squares of this Cadbury Dark Chocolate bar.  I prefer Cadbury Dairy Milk or Dove Dark Chocolate, but this will suffice!

Wow, this was a quick post!  I’ll be sure to write more tonight.  I am trying out a new recipe for dinner, based on one from one of my fellow food bloggers!  Where did I get my recipes before the Internet?  I depend so much on http://www.allrecipes.com, blogs, and other sites, I rarely crack open an actual cookbook anymore.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Another Monday Portion Distortion

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. land animal  |  June 21, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    No I didn’t think the title sounded disgusting… Does that make me a weirdo? 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 21, 2010 at 3:37 pm

      Nope, I think it means you are a very healthy eater 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  June 21, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    I’ve still never tried lentils, which I think I need to change soon. Do they taste similar to beans?

    And I’m always making blogger recipes now! I’m such a visual person, so everytime I see a picture of some delicious food I’m like “Need to eat this. Now!”

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 21, 2010 at 3:39 pm

      Lentils don’t have much of a flavour. They absorb whatever they’re cooked with, so I cooked mine in vegetable broth to make them nice and salty 🙂

      Yes, I totally agree — the pictures make me want to cook so much more! And having a “normal” person test the recipe first also helps.

      Reply
  • 5. Therese  |  June 21, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    I’m not a huge walnut fan but I’d totally substitute the walnuts and make that loaf! I’m always up for making veggie and healthier versions of comfort food! I used to DRENCH my meatloaf in ketchup….maybe I shouldn’t make it because now I’m wondering if I ever really liked meatloaf to begin with!

    I’m ALWAYS trying to make blogger recipes! Everything just looks so damned good that by the time I get home from work I want to eat/make EVERYTHING in the house!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 21, 2010 at 6:49 pm

      I bet you can use pecans or almonds to make this dish! I think the key is toasting them. What is it about a toasted nut that is so good? Something to ponder 🙂

      The recipe I made tonight is one of yours! It turned out great. I am just about to post about it, so stay tuned!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

