Another Monday

June 21, 2010 at 8:44 am 11 comments

I predict a busy day at work, so I’ve got to make this quick!  Blogging should always come before work, don’t you think?

For breakfast, I had some Overnight Oats and I remembered to take a picture before I added the toppings!

This contains:

  • 1/3rd cup of rolled oats
  • 1/3rd cup of plain non-fat yogurt
  • 1/3rd cup of 1% milk

I let this sit overnight in the fridge, and then this morning added:

  • 3 sliced strawberries
  • Small handful of blueberries
  • Small handful of granola
  • 1 not so small tablespoon of almond butter

I am now a little obsessed with calculating how much each meal costs.  Forget calories, I want to count cents!

This is my approximate breakdown:

  • Oatmeal – 5 cents
  • Milk – 15 cents
  • Yogurt – 22 cents
  • Strawberries – 30 cents
  • Blueberries – 25 cents
  • Granola – 25 cents
  • Almond butter – 30 cents

Total – $1.52. Not bad!  I am going to try calculating the cost of more of my meals so that I can gain perspective on the comparative expense of going out to eat.

And since it’s Monday, it’s time for The Monday Rundown!  This is what I spent on miscellaneous stuff last week:

Tall coffee $1.89
Contribution to coworker gift $5.00
Tall coffee $1.89
Tall coffee $1.89
Tall coffee $2.00
Muffin $1.29
Ultrasound pictures $10
Tall coffee $1.89
Nifty gifties $17.11
Movie tickets $28.00
Gas $10.00
Total for week $80.96

My thoughts:

1.  Girlfriend still loves her coffee

2.  It sucks I had to pay for my ultrasound pictures, but they are definitely the best photos I have ever seen!

3.  Going to see a 3D movie in Toronto is expensive, but worth it for the fun night out (Just make sure to eat dinner at home beforehand)

I stayed under budget by about $35.00, so a good week!  My goal for this upcoming week is to not eat out once.  The only food item I home to buy is, of course, coffee 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Happy Father’s Day! Loaf Salad

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  June 21, 2010 at 10:13 am

    I had overnight oats this morning too! We’re OO buddies!

    You didn’t do too badly last week at all! After my Saturday shop (although it was essential), I don’t WANT to know what I spent last week!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 21, 2010 at 12:04 pm

      OO buddies unite! 🙂

      Sometimes, ignorance is bliss!

      Reply
  • 3. Amanda C  |  June 21, 2010 at 10:49 am

    How do you keep track of your spending? I’d love to keep track of all the little odds and ends, but I have yet to come up with a good method.

    Reply
    • 4. Heather (Perspective Is Everything)  |  June 21, 2010 at 11:05 am

      i know you weren’t asking me, but i keep all my receipts. that helps big time.

      Reply
      • 5. Amanda C  |  June 21, 2010 at 11:38 am

        I keep a lot of mine (and use debit/credit as much as possible to leave an electronic papertrail), but I find that I have a lot of cash transactions that somehow slip through the cracks, like farmer’s market purchases and the odd coffee here or there.

    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 21, 2010 at 12:05 pm

      I keep a spreadsheet at work that I add to every time I make a purchase. On the weekends, I just try to save the receipts in my wallet and tally everything up on Monday (hence the birth of the Monday Rundown!). Sometimes I forget the exact cost of something, so I will just round up (never down!).

      Reply
  • 7. Heather (Perspective Is Everything)  |  June 21, 2010 at 11:04 am

    i really hope the “nifty gifty” phrase is an “Office” reference. if it is….well, i think the liking you has evolved to loving you! 😉
    ha! just enjoying your blog and all our similarities. yes, sweet potatoes do make everything better 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 21, 2010 at 12:06 pm

      It is definitely an Office reference! After Gilmore Girls, that is my favourite show. I now use the term “nifty gifties” so much that I forget it’s originally a Michael-ism 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. Allison  |  June 21, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    You have to pay for your ultrasound pics? I thought you had nice socialized healthcare that paid for everything… except ultrasound pictures? Oh Canada.

    Reply
    • 10. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 21, 2010 at 3:38 pm

      I don’t think it’s normal to have to pay for your pictures. None of my Canadian friends have had to pay for theirs! I think the clinic is trying to make extra cash on the side. Kind of skeezy really!

      Reply
      • 11. Amanda C  |  June 22, 2010 at 8:52 am

        It’s not the first time I’ve heard about paying for ultrasound pics. Clinics are strange like that, because they operate in a not quite public/not quite private manner, they can get away with charging for little extras.

        Anyhow, healthcare in Canada isn’t perfect. While it’s free, it’s the essential stuff that’s free (though I could argue that u/s pics are essential!). Like everytime my mom got a fiberglass cast she had to pay for it (because theoretically she could go for the standard plaster, but in reality there was no way she was having another plaster cast put on if she didn’t need to). Dave is quite the critic of OHIP, he’s always saying that unless you’re dying, OHIP won’t cover anything. He seems to think that the Quebec system is better, and yet we’re the system that has no family doctors (the government has actually outright said that unless you have some sort of serious or chronic condition, or are pregnant, don’t bother trying to find one for a couple of years). Anyhow, at least we don’t have to pay zillions of dollars like our friends down South without insurance, so in light of that, $10 is a small price to pay.

        I know way too much about the financial and administrative aspects of healthcare 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

