Frugal Fitness

June 20, 2010 at 8:55 am 2 comments

Happy Father’s Day!

Father’s Day counts when your child is a 20 week, 1 day old fetus, right?  I bought husband a little gift and will make him whatever he wants for breakfast once he wakes up.  I did think about taking him out for breakfast because he loves that, but I thought I’d save some bucks by making something myself.  More money for the fetus’ college fund, right?

Since he’s still sleeping, I already ate breakfast myself and am now sipping coffee and watching the first episode of the first season of Gilmore Girls.  It is my all-time favourite show and I own all seven seasons on DVD.  I own just a handful of movies, but it was of utmost importance that I own this entire collection.  I have definitely got my money’s worth!  It is the perfect show to watch when you are happy, sad, confused, upset, excited, or basically feeling any human emotion.  It is Comfort Food Television.

Speaking of comfort food, I had another bagel with cream cheese for breakfast. I have all this time on a Sunday morning to make a more elaborate breakfast, but all I wanted was a bagel.  What can I say, I love them.

I had it along with a sliced mango and a cup of coffee.  Easy, simple, and delicious.

And because I have all this time on a Sunday morning, I calculated approximately how much this breakfast cost!  (Yes, I need to get a life).

  • Mango – 77 cents
  • Bagel – 50 cents
  • Cream cheese – 25 cents?
  • Coffee – 20 cents?
  • Cream – 10 cents?

Total cost of breakfast = $1.82

Not too shabby!

Yesterday before the movie, I did a few of the “pregnancy lady exercises” that I learned from last month’s issue of Self Magazine.  I’ve only done them twice and, both times, my legs have killed me afterwards.  You would think pregnant lady exercises would go easy on the ol’ bod, but no!  Apparently, you are expected to be fit and strong during pregnancy, too.  What a rip off!

This morning, my throbbing thigh muscles coupled with my usual frugal thoughts made me think about the concept of “frugal fitness” — that is, how to keep fit while not spending a lot of money.  Because as you probably know, you can spend A LOT of money to maintain fitness.  Running shoes, aerobics classes, lululemon yoga pants, swimming lessons, leg warmers and hair bands…you can end up spending a lot more than you originally planned.

Instead of writing about my own “frugal fitness” tips, I thought I’d just link to this article: 12 Frugal Exercise Ideas

I am, by no means, the fittest girl on the block, but I do try to get free exercise when I can.  This is what I do:

  • Instead of taking the bus to the subway each morning, I walk.  It takes about 25 minutes which is a perfect amount of time.  Yes, I could sleep an extra 15 minutes each morning if I took the bus, but I find that getting this walk in before my brain is fully cognitive for the day is for the best.  There is no convincing myself to skip it!
  • Many years ago, I bought some 5 pound weights and I do a series of bicep and tricep curls, rowing movements, and a bunch of other arm exercises (I have no idea what they are called) about 3 to 4 times a week while watching television.  The “while watching television” part is what makes this one so easy.
  • I work on the 6th floor of an office building.  I always take the stairs down (I can’t take the stairs up because the door is locked from the first floor.  Also, walking down 6 floor is a lot easier than walking up).
  • If there is a staircase beside an escalator, I always take the stairs.  I feel a maniacal sense of superiority over those who are taking the escalator, which is a personality trait I don’t often admit to others 😉
  • I borrow yoga videos from the library.  I rarely end up watching them during the one-week I have them in my possession, but at least I pretend to give it a try!

I hope that some of these tips are helpful!

Now, I’ve got to go make some eggs/pancakes/waffles/french toast for the daddy-to-be…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Toy Story 3 Happy Father’s Day!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Helena  |  June 20, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    Love father’s day! and it absolutely counts when baby is still in your tummy. When are you due, by the way?

    Just a question, did toy story 3 have any scary parts? My son loved the first one and I’m thinking of, hmm, getting the third one for him. Wouldn’t be able to go see it in the theater since that will be too much “tv” for my 2.5 year old son :-).

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 20, 2010 at 6:11 pm

      I am due on November 6th (well 5th based on the ultrasound). I am SO looking forward to it!

      Toy Story 3 did have a few scary parts. When the toys go to the new daycare, they meet some interesting characters that have two-sided personalities, and their adventures are quite suspenseful and dangerous. Of course, since it’s a Disney film everything works out very happily in the end!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

