Toy Story 3

June 19, 2010 at 10:34 pm 4 comments

Late post tonight (well late for this old timer!) because I was just out at the picture show.  Husband and I saw Toy Store 3.  It was very sweet and a lot of fun.  I think it’s received like 100% positive reviews from critics, and I can see why!  A really nice conclusion to the trilogy.

But enough about something that isn’t related to what I eat 😉

For lunch today, I wasn’t sure what to have, so I took some random components to create something new.

A slice of bread, a peach, a tomato, 1/2 an avocado, and a hard-boiled egg

Put it all together, and what do you get?

I toasted the bread and placed the sliced avocado on first, then the sliced tomato, and finally the sliced egg.  I also sliced up the peach.  There was a lot of slicing involved.

Eggs require black pepper.  This is fact.

I got hungry about 1.5 hours later, so I made a Death Monster!  I’ve decided that this combination isn’t my favourite.  It really needs a banana or something to spruce it up.  Plus it looks like death!

It contains:

  • 1 1/4 cup soymilk
  • 1 cup of frozen blueberries
  • 1 giant handful of baby spinach

About an hour later, I was still hungry!  So I ate this leftover pancake.  I didn’t add anything to it.  Just ate it with my hands, like a barbarian!

(Did barbarians have access to pancakes?)

When not eating, I spent the afternoon reading and relaxing.  By the time it came time to prepare dinner, I was ready to get my hands dirty.  Ever since seeing the recipe for Vegan Walnut Lentil Loaf on Eat Live Run, I have been wanting to try it.  With cooking time, it takes over an hour to prepare, which is a bit long for a work night.  Today was the perfect day!  Even better, I had all the ingredients except the celery on hand.  I love it when that happens.

I knew this recipe had promise when it called for toasted walnuts

This looks unappetizing, but wait!

Served with steamed asparagus and half a baked sweet potato

My only complaint is that it didn’t stay firm when I sliced and served it.  When I went back for seconds (because you know I did!), it was much firmer.  I think letting it sit for 5 to 10 minutes once out of the oven would have helped.  This recommendation is for people who actually have patience.  I am not familiar with this term when it comes to eating dinner.

Admittedly, it doesn’t look all that great.  But I loved it!  Even better, my meat-loving husband loved it too.  One for the recipe book!

We left for the movies around 7:00 pm, and I decided to pack us some snacks.  I’ve never really purchased concession snacks before because they are so expensive, but I thought it would be fun to munch on something during the movie.  I packed us some red, seedless grapes and two slices of Strawberry Spice Loaf.

I guess I am more of a snacker than my husband because I ate ALL of the grapes and 2 of the 4 pieces of loaf.  How can one resist a snack when watching a movie?  I just don’t get it.

Today was just what I needed.  Every so often, I crave a day of no obligations.  Sometimes, even social events can feel a bit like work to me, especially since most of my loved ones live so far away so it’s a bit of a drive.  But today was just great.  Good food, lots of relaxing time, a fun movie, and lentil loaf.  What more can a girl ask for?  Tomorrow, I hope to have more of the same!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

That’s so Raven (It’s the future I can see) Frugal Fitness

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. land animal  |  June 19, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    I was wanting to try that same meatloaf recipe too. If your meat-eating husband loved it, I really have to give it a whirl. Also, have you tried frozen cherries in a green smoothie? It’s my fav!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 20, 2010 at 8:20 am

      My husband is very easy to please and tolerates all of my vegetarian experiments, but he actually complimented it multiple times and seemed really “into it”. Let me know what you think!

      Can you believe that Canada doesn’t sell frozen cherries? I keep reading about all of these awesome “chocolate cherry bomb” smoothies on food blogs, but if I want to make my own, I’m going to have to freeze my own cherries. Weak! 😉

      Reply
  • 3. Therese  |  June 20, 2010 at 8:17 am

    Oh I hear you on the no obligations thing! I used to never understand all-inclusive vacations where you just sat around most of the time until I grew up! I went on one a year or two back and now I understand PERFECTLY well!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 20, 2010 at 8:22 am

      I think it was one of those signs I was an adult when I actually got excited to have no plans and to be able to go to bed early. That was the kicker! I spent my entire childhood trying to extend my bedtime, but I knew adulthood was upon me when I was excited to go to bed early 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

