That’s so Raven (It’s the future I can see)

June 19, 2010 at 10:57 am 6 comments

Good morning!

I am so bummed I didn’t get around to posting for a third time yesterday.  Unfortunately, I was exhausted and fell asleep on the couch around 8 pm.  At some point, husband helped me to bed where I stayed for the next 10 hours.  To be honest, it was kind of fabulous.  Sleeping and doing nothing is my favourite hobby on the weekends.  Ok.  Maybe not just on the weekends!

Let’s rewind to yesterday’s afternoon snack.  I had an organic apple and some crackers (I tried to find a link to the brand.  I believe they are President’s Choice honey sesame, but I’m not sure!)

It was also a coworker’s last day, so there was cake.  I had a small slice.  One great thing I have noticed about healthy eating is that when I have something decadent like cake, it is about 10 times better than it used to be.  Bonus!

I went to my friend’s after work and picked up the stroller (it’s awesome, by the way, and did I mention FREE?) so dinner was a bit later than usual.  Husband and I were racking our brains, trying to think of something satisfying and quick.  We decided on whole wheat spaghetti with marinara sauce.  Two pasta nights in a row!  Who am I, King Henry VIII? 😉

Yes, that is the cheap parmesan cheese that comes in the canister that is loaded with sodium and other unhealthy ingredients.  Note to self:  Only buy REAL parmesan.  For health and food-blogging purposes.

Since I fell asleep so early, I didn’t have dessert, which is just as well due to the afternoon cake.

So this morning, I woke up fully rested and ready to go grocery shopping!  I go as soon as I wake up (usually between 7 am -8 am) because I like to beat the crowds.  I really love grocery shopping.  Well, I like the “picking out” part, not so much the “paying” part.

Before heading out, I made a little bread-less banana peanut butter sandwich.  I actually got this idea from a friend of my mom’s who ran a daycare.  She made these for the kids, but also rolled them in shredded coconut.  It is pretty genius.

You slice a banana in half and then lengthwise and then put some peanut butter on one half of each!

Sandwiched together, it makes a quick, satisfying snack.

By the time I got home, I was ready to have a full breakfast.  Out of everything I bought, I most wanted a bagel and some cherries.  Husband wanted strawberry/banana/chocolate chip pancakes so I made those for him because I am an AMAZING wife (caps lock necessary).  Then I toasted myself a whole wheat/flax bagel and spread it with some plain cream cheese, and had that along with a small bowl of cherries and a big mug of coffee.

I love bagels, but I especially love bagels with cream cheese.  And none of this “light” cheese business.  I like full fat!

It was really, really good.

It’s turned into a grey day so I think I am just going to lay low, do some house chores, watch some tv, crochet, and generally bum around today.  I am trying out a new recipe for dinner so stay tuned for that!  I think on the weekends, I will try to write in the ol’ blog twice a day instead of three times.  I’m on a computer all day at work, so it’s nice to take a little break.

Have a great day!

p.s. The title of this blog is brought to you by Saturday morning television 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Eggs, man Toy Story 3

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Helena  |  June 19, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    Sounds like such a nice Saturday. I love my son more than anything, but I can’t help feeling a bit jealous. I’m pregnant with my second one and I honestly feel like having a calm lazy Saturday, staying inside and read. But with a toddler it’s not really possible… :-). He sure keeps me busy.

    Anyways, your bagel looks so yummy, I might have to go and make me one and while I’m in the kitchen I think I’ll try make a banana peanut butter sandwich to my son, great ide! Although I think it will be messy :-).

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 19, 2010 at 10:08 pm

      I know that my relaxing Saturdays are numbered, so I try to enjoy them while I can 🙂

      The banana-peanut butter sandwich is definitely a bit messy, but fun to eat!

      Reply
  • 3. Mel  |  June 20, 2010 at 12:22 am

    That peanut butter banana thing is genius!!!

    Also, a free Combi stroller is a major score. I got mine used for $40 and had to do a cleaning overhaul on it, but they are so convenient and it’s my favourite stroller. The one you linked to looks super nice!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 20, 2010 at 8:18 am

      I didn’t know you had a Combi stroller! The one I have is black, not “wasabi” like the picture, but it’s in mint condition. I love how it stands up when folded and is so light. I was able to carry it home on the bus and subway over my shoulder and didn’t want to kill myself, so bonus! I want to get the Combi bucket car seat in order to make it a travel system.

      Reply
  • 5. Therese  |  June 20, 2010 at 8:14 am

    PB & B is my favourite pre-run snack! YUM!!!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 20, 2010 at 8:18 am

      It’s like the perfect mix of carb and protein without being too filling. I need more of these in my life!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

