Eggs, man

June 18, 2010 at 12:57 pm 8 comments

My morning snack of a hard-boiled egg did it again.  I was full until a half hour after my usual lunchtime.  Amazing!  Now if only I could convince myself to not always eat the cholesterol-filled yolk, then we’d be on to something.

As promised, for lunch, I had a salad!  It was filling and I am not hungry at all.  All hail the almighty salad.

I always forget exactly what I put in these.  Here is a guess:

  • 1 large handful of baby spinach
  • 6 slices of cucumber
  • 1/2 avocado, sliced
  • 2 mushrooms
  • A few slices of red pepper
  • 1/2 tomato, sliced
  • 15 unsalted almonds
  • 1 medallion of goat cheese
  • 2 tablespoons of Mediterranean dressing

For dessert, I finished off the last of my Sublime 80% dark chocolate bar.  I wonder what the next bar will be?

After work today, I am stopping by a friend’s place to pick up a free stroller!  Her friends were given it by a cabbie who had it in the trunk of his car.  He didn’t want it and they didn’t want it but I want it!  It is apparently in excellent condition and I am so excited to get it for FREE.  See?  Kids aren’t really that expensive at all 😉

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Ready for the weekend! That’s so Raven (It’s the future I can see)

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clare  |  June 18, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    I think it’s awesome that you’re getting a stroller for free! I know a lot people would turn their noses up at that but I can honestly say that it’s not worth it to spend big bucks on things like strollers and baby furniture etc. because they outgrow them ridiculously fast, even if you factor handing them down. I have three children (8,5 & 3) and we rather regret spending so much on baby “gear” when we would have been fine with gently used hand-me downs (which we rejected, sadly). One item that was worth every penny? A good quality double jogging stroller. I use it all the time for walking, jogging, shopping and my 5 and 3 year old are still perfectly happy to ride in it. Now we’re into the “after-school activities” years–it gets even more expensive! Sorry…long comment–really enjoying the blog–great idea!

    Reply
    • 2. Mel  |  June 18, 2010 at 5:18 pm

      What model double stroller did you have? I am in the market for one.

      Reply
      • 3. Clare  |  June 19, 2010 at 5:02 pm

        We have a Chariot…Love it to bits. We call it the “pack mule”. We actually were able to avoid a second car for a few years (before #3) with this stroller, it’s really easy to handle and cozy for the kids. Highly recommend.

    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 19, 2010 at 10:27 am

      I am all for getting things used and for free. I was going to get a free crib, but it was one of those with the drop-down side and they’ve since been recalled in the 8 years since it was last used, so we are going to get a new one of those. As long as it’s safe and not covered in weird stains (haha) I am game!

      Thanks for the comment! 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Carrie @ TV and Dinners  |  June 18, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    You should read “Real Food” by Nina Planck. Some of her stuff is kind of out there for me (and probably will be to you as a vegetarian — perhaps skip the meat chapters?), but she has some really interesting things to say about eating whole, real, traditional foods. You won’t feel so guilty about the egg yolk after reading it. 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 19, 2010 at 10:27 am

      Anything that will appease my guilt for eating egg yolks sounds good to me! I will have to check that book out. Thanks!

      Reply
  • 7. Therese  |  June 18, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    I used to be terrified of eggs! I have high cholesterol and so I used to call them “little cups of death”. Turns out the yolk is where all the nutrition is! Turns out my cholesterol was also genetic so eggs, regardless, wouldn’t have done anything! LOL

    I don’t have eggs often at ALL but they do leave me stuffed for HOURS. I always figure I should just hardboil a bunch and bring them to work with me but I just never do! I don’t think I’ve ever gone out of the whole “Little Cups of Death” stage…

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 19, 2010 at 10:28 am

      I kind of love the term “little cups of death” and will be using that from now on. Maybe I will rename it to “little cups of death AND deliciousness”! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

