Celebrating

June 17, 2010 at 8:40 pm 6 comments

We had the ultrasound this afternoon and our baby is a happy, healthy, bouncing…gender to be determined.  Haha.

To celebrate, we went out for a carb-infested meal!  I shall be changing the name of this blog from Frugal ‘n’ Fit to Broke ‘n’ Obese.

But first, for an early afternoon snack, I had a raisin bran muffin.  It was one of those muffins that sounds healthy (bran?  raisins?) but really has a 1/2 cup of oil per muffin.  It was DELICIOUS.

After the ultrasound, we decided to check out a new restaurant for dinner on Queen Street East.  I had to use the facilities pretty badly (I consumed so much water before the ultrasound!) so I was glad when we came upon this:

It had a cute patio and wasn’t outrageously priced, so we were sold!

They brought a warm, herbed foccacia bread to the table with some olive oil and a balsamic reduction for dipping purposes.  I had two pieces.

They had an extensive pasta menu.  I don’t usually order pasta at restaurants because it’s often over-priced for the vegetarian dishes, but I was able to order the cheese tortellini without bacon.  Something about cheesy, carby goodness just sounded wonderful!  We wanted to celebrate our good news with some wine, but that is not to be for another, oh, year and a half.  Instead we shared an appetizer of baked brie with apple, strawberry and mango chutney.

Really, freaking good

My pasta was out of this world!  Maybe because I’ve been eating on the healthier side of things, but this cheese tortellini drenched in a creamy rose sauce with wild mushrooms and spinach was amazing.

Ultimate Comfort Food

I am stuffed and happy.  A nice combination I think!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

The cost of raising a child, aka “just give up now” Ready for the weekend!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mel  |  June 17, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    Oh my gosh, that pasta looks amazing. Posting pictures like that is just not fair!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 18, 2010 at 8:33 am

      Sorry! I should give a warning, especially to the pregnant ladies out there 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  June 17, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    Oh my gosh, your prospective blog title actually made me “laugh out loud” enough that I snorted a little, which (thankfully) isn’t a common occurrence for me. I’m actually still laughing a little.

    Your dinner looks amazing, and I’m glad your baby is healthy! 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 18, 2010 at 8:34 am

      I think Broke ‘n’ Obese has a nice ring to it 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. land animal  |  June 17, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    Oh my gosh! That last pasta looks amazing. Comfort food? Yes. I want some now 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 18, 2010 at 8:32 am

      It was totally amazing. It was so amazing, I don’t even feel an ounce of guilt! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

