Breakfast for dinner

June 16, 2010 at 7:01 pm 6 comments

While assessing my meals today, I have come to the conclusion that I have eaten a lot of fruit.  A whole lot.  I am living in the wrong country for this level of fruit consumption!  I should move to Hawaii or Antigua (for this reason, and many others!).

After lunch, I didn’t get hungry again for almost 4 hours.  I think my morning snack of an egg contributed to this.  Very filling!  I had this peach (fruit #1) for a snack around 3:30 pm.

I am trying to spruce up my pictures by adding different backgrounds.  Do you like this exciting background of my water bottle?

For dinner, I decided to make a frittata (Ok, spell check does not want me to use the word “frittata”!).  I love making frittatas because they are easy, tasty, and use up whatever vegetables you have lying around.  I had some asparagus and summer squash that were beginning to turn, so this was a perfect time to not just make a frittata, but make a Springtime Frittata!  Better yet — Frittata Prima Vera.  Ooh la la!

I began by sauteing onion, asparagus, mushrooms, red pepper, and summer squash in a teaspoon of olive oil.  I used enough to fill my cast iron skillet.

Next, I completely pretended I did not just finish reading The China Study and scrambled up four eggs and 1/2 cup of egg whites with about 1/4 cup 1% milk.  Usually I use half-and-half cream to make this dish, but decided to err on the side of the healthy!

My American friends always get a kick out of seeing milk bags, so I had to include a picture of one.

Then I poured the egg mixture into the cast iron skillet and cooked it on medium heat for about 7 minutes.

I added a bit of feta cheese and sprinkled on some dried herbs (a combo called “Tuscan blend”).  Then I put it under the broiler in the oven for an additional 7 minutes.  I just randomly chose 7 minutes (not 6…not 8…) and it seemed to do the trick.

YUM

I ate a quarter of the Frittata Prima Vera with a toasted bagel with a touch of margarine and a fruit salad mixed with pineapple (fruit #2), strawberries (fruit #3), and blueberries (fruit #4).

I also added a bit of hot sauce because that is what I do!

For dessert, I was craving a green monster.  It happens.  I made my favourite combination.

1 cup soymilk, 2 handfuls spinach, 1 cup frozen mango (fruit #5)

I call this: “Still life with GM”

I call this: “Spinach-crazed lady with GM”

I’m having one of those nights where I want to have all of my daily “chores” completed early (dishes done, lunch for tomorrow made, clothes picked out etc.), so that I can spend the rest of the night just vegging.  Husband rented the movie The Wolfman for the evening.  It is not my usual pick of movie (where is the humour?  where is the romance?), but TV is so awful at this time of year that I will take anything.  Benicio Del Toro as a man that has wolf-like tendencies.  Or a wolf that has man-like tendencies?

Source of picture

Ummmm.  Yeah.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

The China Study Breakfast for breakfast

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  June 16, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    Mmm!!! Frittata!!! Looks great!

    I have the night to chill as well and I’m lost, I try to watch mindless things on the movie network but keep getting up and doing things. What happened to the old me?! The one that used to laze around all DAY doing nothing?!?! I’d like her back just for two hours…

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 17, 2010 at 8:20 am

      The art of being lazy truly is an art! At least there is the Internet for time-wasting, eh? 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Carrie @ TV and Dinners  |  June 16, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    Hahaha! That picture is hilarious.

    Reply
  • 5. Didds  |  June 17, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    BB is on the way ;p

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

