Thanks :)

June 15, 2010 at 8:57 am 5 comments

Thanks for your nice comments about my 8 pound weight gain.  I think I really just need to stop thinking about numbers and focus on how I look and feel, which is great on both accounts!  If I knew pregnancy would be this wonderful, I would have got knocked up YEARS ago 😉

Last night, we went for a 1/2 hour walk which was a nice way to spend the evening and then I did some awkward exercises.  There is this one that involves a deep squat that you hold for 30 seconds; you are supposed to do it SIX times!  I managed to do it only twice and my legs are killing me today.  This set of exercises feels like pregnant lady boot camp!

Anyway, for breakfast today, I had some Overnight Oats!  You can’t go wrong there.

I should take a picture of what this looks like BEFORE I add toppings!

This concoction includes:

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup 0% Greek yogurt
  • 1/3 cup 1% milk
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 1/4 cup raspberry mixture
  • 1 spoonful of almond butter

It was, as you can imagine, quite tasty.

Last night, I caught a tiny bit of the documentary Food Inc. on PBS (I would have watched more except for those annoying breaks where they solicit donations!).  I’ve seen this doc before but it was an important reminder about how our diet affects not only our health, but the environment.  I think being a vegetarian helps the situation, but little things like buying free-run eggs and organic produce are also significantly helpful.

Well, it is back to the grind for me.  Toodles!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

8 pounds Feta cheese > Goat cheese

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hotelinhamaburg1  |  June 15, 2010 at 9:47 am

    Great recipe, fantastic pictures of this recipe. love it
    hotel in hamaburg

    Reply
  • 3. Amanda C  |  June 15, 2010 at 11:19 am

    I haven’t yet watched any of Food inc., but I’m an avid reader of anything food/environment/health related (I’m a bit afraid of watching any of the movies because of the graphic nature of some parts). If I remember right it was in Food Matters (by Mark Bittman) when he talks about how while organic farming/animal raising is better for the environment, it would be impossible to grow/raise food for the whole world that way (because it takes more space). At least that’s what I remember. And it’s interesting to think about, and sort of discouraging. Maybe he was just referring to meat production? Now that I think about it, I think that’s what it was. So hurrah for vegetarianism!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 15, 2010 at 11:29 am

      I would like to read Food Matters by Mark Bittman. Dude recently lost a ton of weight following an almost-vegan diet, didn’t he? I also want to read Diet for a New America. Currently, I’m reading The China Study. I do a lot of reading about stuff I know already. Talk about preaching to the converted! But I still find it inspirational 🙂

      Food Inc. does have some pretty graphic images. It’s always so shocking and so depressing to see, which I guess is the point.

      Hurrah for vegetarianism indeed! 🙂

      Reply
      • 5. Amanda C  |  June 15, 2010 at 11:32 am

        I dunno, if you already do a lot of reading, Food Matters isn’t that great. I felt a lot like he was just rehashing the same stuff I’ve already read about in other books (especially Michael Pollan). But it’s nice to be reminded. Plus it was from the library!

        Yup, he totally did lose a lot of weight, but he didn’t go into much detail about it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

