Going out

June 15, 2010 at 8:13 pm 6 comments

Ugggghghghghghhgghghg.

I am full.

But would it be a proper BUFFET if you didn’t feel like kind of throwing up?  I don’t think so!

For a snack this afternoon, I had some fresh, diced pineapple.

I thought this would hold me over, but I ended up attacking a Fibre 1 bar as well.  This ended up being a smart move, because we didn’t end up going out for dinner for another few hours.

The anticipation was palpable

Because I am a “special” kind of person, I spent the entire afternoon figuring out a plan of attack for the BUFFET.  I’ve been to Tucker’s many times before so I knew what to expect.  Husband’s parents were down visiting and they love to go to Tucker’s.  They treat, so no complaints here!

I decided to start with salads for plate #1.

Clockwise from top: cucumber dill salad, bean salad, wheatberry salad, Greek salad, curried tofu, potato dill salad, and in the middle – some sort of chickpea salad

My objective was to load up on protein.  I think I succeeded.  I also had a slice of whole grain bread with butter.

Plate #2 was a bit more varied:

Clockwise from top: mashed squash, curried cauliflower, carrot raisin salad, green beans, noodles, and salad I made (using mushrooms, olives, tomatoes, cucumber, red pepper, and shredded cheddar),

By this point, I was stuffed, but of course I had to have dessert.  Through some miraculous intervention by the Dessert Gods, I ended up only having fruit.  I can’t believe it!  Unprecedented.

A mix of watermelon, cantaloupe, and melon.  The classic fruit salad components

You had to practically roll me out of the restaurant at the time, but already I am feeling perfectly fine.  I am really proud of my selections.  Sure, I overdid it on the quantity, but I think I chose a healthy, colourful, wide selection.  I didn’t load up on carbs and stuck to a lot of fruits and veggies.  Way to go, Self.

*****************************************************************

Since starting this blog two weeks ago, I have either ordered take-out or eaten at a restaurant THREE times.  That sort of behavior doesn’t really belong on a blog with the word “frugal” in the title, eh?  I would really like to talk more about frugality on here, so I thought this topic would provide a good opportunity.

It’s tough being frugal when it comes to an expensive perk like eating out when you are part of a community (friends/family) that likes to.  My husband and I share a love of eating (aside from meat for me, there is little that either of us won’t eat!) and eating out provides a lot of enjoyment for us.  We get excited to order a pizza or Indian, or go to our favourite restaurants (Fresh for me, The Keg for him).  He is my favourite dining companion and when he suggests going out or ordering in, I have a REALLY hard time saying no — even if this means eating unhealthy, expensive food.

A part of me would like to cut back, but another part of me thinks that our little dinner splurges aren’t so bad.  Most of the time, we spend between $20-$30 on each “outing” and do it maybe once every week or two.  That’s not too bad in the grande scheme of things.  Not only does it give us a break from cooking and dishes, but it’s a chance for us to have fun as a couple.  It’s a marital boost!  Ok, does this sound like I am desperately trying to justify this luxury or what? 🙂

I think it’s important to really think about one’s splurges and decide if they are worth the cost.  For me, splurging on clothes, movies, alcohol, or knickknacks is not worth it most of the time .  But a dinner out with family or friends?  Most definitely “yes”.  I just try not to order the Surf and Turf with a side of caviar and bottle of Dom Perignon.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Feta cheese > Goat cheese Breakfast is the most important meal of the day

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. GirlonRaw  |  June 16, 2010 at 9:43 am

    All your fresh fruit looks juicy and yum. I love fresh pineapple 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 16, 2010 at 10:17 am

      Isn’t it the best? I can’t believe how inexpensive it is, too!

      Reply
  • 3. Therese  |  June 16, 2010 at 9:57 am

    I totally agree! I don’t spend money on clothes and things like that (which I actually should! I have no clothes!), I spend my money on healthy food at the grocery store and going to nice places with my boyfriend and friends. I think it evens itself out!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 16, 2010 at 10:20 am

      I think a lot of people don’t even think about their priorities when it comes to spending. Once you establish some, then going out for dinner or whatever floats your boat doesn’t feel so much like a guilty pleasure as just a pleasure!

      Reply
  • 5. Helena  |  June 16, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    Me and my husband were exactly like the two of you before we had our son. We still ate out a lot while he was a baby, but as he grew older we started to go out less and now it’s more like a “once every other month treat” for just the two of us when we have a babysitter.

    We honestly don’t feel the need to eat out any more so I would try not to worry if I were you, enjoy it while you still like it!

    Love your blog by the way.

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 16, 2010 at 6:29 pm

      I figure that we’ll naturally evolve away from eating out so much. I love to cook and often prefer my own food to a restaurant’s, so this won’t be such a bad thing! Now if only I could convince my husband of this 🙂

      Thanks for the compliment!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

