I made it.

June 14, 2010 at 8:39 am 4 comments

Barely, but I made it!

I was awake at 5:50 am (ugh), minutes before my alarm was to ring.  I had that classic internal dialogue with myself:  Should I go to work?  Should I not?  What are the pros and what are the cons?

Pros: Day off work!  Magazines, naps, kitty cuddles.

Cons: Catching up on work tomorrow/Guilt for not really being sick.

I somehow – some way – pulled myself from bed, showered, ate a good breakfast, and walked to the subway.  My reward is a tall bold from Starbs.

For breakfast this morning, I continued to embrace the Bagel Love and had one toasted with natural peanut butter and some leftover raspberry, uh, stuff, I had originally made for the cheesecake.  It’s a mix of raspberries, corn starch, and a bit of sugar thickened over the stove top.  It’s just like jam, but a lot less sweet.  I really liked it!  If I ever find myself with a bunch of frozen raspberries in my possession, I would definitely make some of this stuff for bagel and oatmeal-topping purposes.

I ate it along with a small bowl of cherries.  Now I am out of cherries again, but luckily I bought half of the grocery store’s fruit selection on Saturday so I should be good for the rest of the week.

Well, it is Monday, and you know what that means:  The Monday Rundown! This is when I post my miscellaneous spending for the previous week and make self-criticizing comments about my purchases.

Miscellaneous Spending – Week of June 6th to June 12th

Small coffee $1.28
Canadian Tire Gift Card $25.00
Tall iced coffee $2.50
Small coffee $1.28
Small coffee $1.68
Cheesecake fixings $15.95
Cherries and chocolate $8.26
Tall coffee $1.90
Small coffee $1.68
Thai dinner $26.50
Total for week $86

The coffee addiction is as strong as ever, but Baby is happy we are limited to one cup per day.  The Canadian Tire Gift Card was for my dad’s Father’s day gift and the cheesecake fixings were, obviously, for the cheesecake I made!  Cheesecakes are expensive to make!  (But worth it).   I treated our Thai dinner on Friday night because Husband treated to the pizza on Wednesday.  Have I mentioned that we keep our money separate?  I am what they call ANAL RETENTIVE about money, so it’s best for us to have control over our own domains, so to speak.  Everything is not equal all of the time, and we are ok with that.  But this system works well for us!  For now, anyway.  Talk to me when I’m on mat leave!

I am happy with my purchases.  There is nothing I regret buying and I stayed under-budget for the week.  I deserve a reward.  Another cup of coffee?  I wish!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Yellow 19 weeks 2 days

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda C  |  June 14, 2010 at 9:54 am

    I finally added you to my google reader, so now I get to follow you! Yay! I’m really liking your style, especially the Monday Rundown!

    “Everything is not equal all of the time, and we are ok with that. ”

    We keep our “household” spending funds in a joint account, but it depends on how much we have left/who is feeling rich/poor as to whether all our spending comes out of it (I’m thinking of things like dinners out that we don’t really need, as opposed to groceries or rent). I agree, everything cannot be equal all the time. It would drive me crazy!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 14, 2010 at 10:16 am

      Hurrah! Thanks for adding me 🙂 I think the Monday Rundown is a good idea just for my own sake. It’s nice to write out my thoughts about the previous week’s spending.

      Reply
  • 3. Therese  |  June 14, 2010 at 11:52 am

    My boyfriend and I work similarly. We have a joint account that I have money automatically deposited into every week for bills but everything else is separate. We still work together for our savings but we keep our own bank accounts. Works for us!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 14, 2010 at 12:08 pm

      We are so lucky to live in this day and age where each partner can maintain his/her own account. I think it really contributes to marital/partner bliss!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

