8 pounds

June 14, 2010 at 6:50 pm 4 comments

That is how much I gained in 4 weeks.  EIGHT POUNDS IN FOUR WEEKS.  To be honest, I am having trouble digesting this little piece of information, even though I know it’s no big deal.  My midwife says it’s fine and that it doesn’t matter how much a woman gains each month as long as the cumulative weight gain over the entire pregnancy isn’t outrageous.  But still.  EIGHT POUNDS!  That is the size of a full-grown baby right there.

Anyway, aside from that, the midwife appointment went well.  I passed my monthly urine test and the heartbeat was a healthy 135 beats per minute.  I love hearing the heartbeat!  I will never grow tired of it.  That’s a promise.

For a snack this afternoon, I had a peach and a Fibre 1 bar.  Who is on the Fibre 1 train with me?  They are so tasty and filling!  I was really hungry this afternoon (my body is busy putting on two pounds a week, after all), so it was much appreciated.  I also had my first peach of the summer!  It was very tasty.

Dinner was some of this instant Indian food that I picked up at Loblaw’s a couple of weeks ago.

It was sooooo tasty!  I would definitely recommend it, even though it is a bit calorie-laden.  For a half cup (or half tasse for you francophones!):

I stuck to the half cup and had it with a load of steamed broccoli, a piece of naan, and a glass of 1% milk.

A well-rounded meal, I think.

Now I am just waiting for the husband to finish up the dishes and then we are going for a walk!  I walk a 1/2 hour each morning, but I’m going to try to add a 1/2 hour in the evening, too, along with some calisthenics-for-pregnant-folk (Did I mention Self magazine has exercises for preggos this month?  I tried doing one last night and almost fell over, so I’m off to a great start!).  After the walk, I am going to treat myself to one of these yogurt smoothie bars:

I can get behind these nutrition stats.

So that’s that.  I’m up 8 pounds in 4 weeks but my baby is doing well, and that’s all that matters, right?

Right?!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Addendum Thanks :)

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. land animal  |  June 14, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    Please DO NOT WORRY. You’re preggers, don’t sweat it! You are supposed to gain about 25-35lbs. And I’m you are eating lots of healthy foods. I’m glad to hear your baby is doing well!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 15, 2010 at 8:44 am

      I know, I need to chill out! As long as baby is doing well, life is made in the shade 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Therese  |  June 15, 2010 at 7:16 am

    I can see your panic re: the 8lbs but it sounds like you’re doing everything you should be! It doesn’t mean you’ll gain 8lbs EVERY month, just this month! I’m sure it’ll even out over time!

    I had no idea about those yogurt bars!!!!! Definitely going to try them! YUM!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 15, 2010 at 8:47 am

      I think it was the shock of it. I was thinking I would gain maybe 3 or 4 pounds and to see a gain of 8 was a bit…intense! haha. But you’re right, I think it will even out over time.

      The yogurt bars also come in wild berry and mango peach!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

