Grey day

June 12, 2010 at 9:52 am 6 comments

Good morning!  It’s a cool, grey day here in Toronto.  I’m ready to go back to bed!

I slept in until the late, late hour of 7:30 am.  Usually I am up by 6:30 am, alarm or no alarm.  I was happy to get that extra hour of sleep, though!  I like to do my weekly grocery shop first thing on Saturday mornings while most of the world is still sleeping.  This means traffic is light, the aisles are empty, and there is no maneuvering your shopping cart around Slow-Moving Old People (SMOPs).  It’s a win-win.

Before I left, I grabbed an apple to tide me over:

For breakfast, I decided to have eggs.  Something about Saturday mornings and having time to cook makes me always want eggs!

I scrambled up 1 egg with 1/4 cup of egg whites in 1 teaspoon of olive oil.  I put a few dashes of hot sauce on it along with some ground pepper.  I also had a small bowl of strawberries and blueberries:

Along with a 7 grain bagel.  I LOVE bagels:  they are chewy, dense, and really satisfying to eat.  I love them especially toasted with cream cheese, but also with peanut butter or even margarine.  All of the health magazines tell you to swap bagels for english muffins, but I can’t do it!  I don’t mind english muffins, but they are no bagels.

These bagels are 250 calories each, which isn’t bad in bagel-land.  I had mine with a bit of margarine.

A tasty breakfast, but I am still hungry!  Maybe all of that Mexican food expanded my stomach last night.  Actually, this breakfast only comes in around 350-400 calories which isn’t enough for this lady.  I predict a Green Monster in my immediate future.

Happy Caturday! 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Friday night in the big city! Oh, what a night.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rachel  |  June 12, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    Oooh your breakfast looks yummy! I haven’t had scrambled eggs in forever! xx

    Reply
  • 3. brookeyool  |  June 12, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    Hey, just found your blog! Love the idea of frugally eating and living fit — it’s frustrating, sometimes, to see all of these people tossing around constant trips to Whole Foods, etc… Nice to know that there are people just like me! I’m a small business owner/freelance writer with an unemployed husband, and we do our best. 🙂

    Congrats on the little one, and I look forward to reading more!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 13, 2010 at 11:09 am

      Yeah, it’s my personal challenge to eat as healthy as possible as cheaply as possible. I hope this blog is helpful to you! 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. annecalista  |  June 12, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    Good for you for staying loyal to bagels 🙂 I love them too but don’t eat them that often.

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 13, 2010 at 11:09 am

      I am a lifelong Bagel Lover, what can I say? 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

