TGIF

June 11, 2010 at 8:28 am 8 comments

When you were a kid, do you remember watching the TGIF line-up on ABC?  I believe some of the shows were Full House (before it moved to Tuesdays), Step by Step, Family Matters, Boy Meets World, and what else?  I still remember the tune of the TGIF theme song.   Friday nights were so exciting when I was kid.  I got to stay up until 10!!!  Now, I am excited if I get to go to bed by 10 😉

Well, all I can say, is TGIF!  I am really looking forward to this weekend.  I am going to an “apartment”-warming party downtown after work and then, tomorrow, to a surprise party!  What is it about summer that amplifies one’s social calendar?  Talk to me in February and I have entire weekends devoid of plans (which is the way my introverted self often likes it!).  On Sunday, Husband and I are having a day just for us.  There has been talk of barbecuing corn on the cob!  You know you are a boring, married couple when you get excited about the cooking methods of corn.

This morning, I decided to have a pretty basic bowl of cereal.  Since we are so lacking in fruit right now, last night I defrosted 1.5 cups of frozen blueberries and raspberries.  I just left them out on the counter to thaw overnight.  Served with Kashi Go Lean Crunch and non-Greek 0% plain yogurt, this turned into a decent breakfast.

Contains:

  • 1 cup of Kashi Go Lean Crunch
  • 1/2 cup of 0% plain yogurt
  • 3/4 cup of blueberries
  • 3/4 of raspberries

Looking back, I wish I had added a spoonful of nut butter.  Of course, I am always looking for excuses in order to add spoonfuls of nut butter!

Mushy, yet colourful!

I am now sipping my morning coffee and working up the stamina to get through the last day of the work week.  TGIF!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Workin’ it Medallions

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Astrid  |  June 11, 2010 at 10:07 am

    Thanks for reminding me of the TGIF lineup. I used to love it, too!! I loved Nick at Night as well. I remember being so excited to stay up until 10 o’clock IMing my friends on AOL back when it first came out. Boy Meets World was one of my favorite shows ever. I miss it!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 11, 2010 at 11:48 am

      We didn’t get Nick at Night but I’d watch it whenever we were on vacation in Florida. Such a welcome reminder of childhood! My favourite show was Full House. Of course I had a crush on Uncle Jesse!

      Reply
      • 3. Becky  |  June 11, 2010 at 1:35 pm

        T-G-I-F!! I also liked Dinosaurs in the early years and Hangin’ With Mr. Cooper in the later years. And Astrid, so glad you brought up good ol’ Nicolodean’s SNICK! Are YOU afraid of the dark?? muah ha ha, that show scared the crap out of me when I was a kid!

        Just linked over from Healthy Tipping Point, love your blog!

      • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 11, 2010 at 1:52 pm

        I totally remember Dinosaurs and Hangin’ with Mr. Cooper! Whatever happened to Mr. Cooper, anyway? 🙂

        Glad you love the blog! Will check out yours now…

  • 5. Therese  |  June 11, 2010 at 11:04 am

    I LIVED for TGIF!! I was such a Step-By-Step fan!!!

    I hear ya on the social calendar! I have two weddings in six days coming up! Of course, some of it is my own doing and inviting people over…But I already feel as if June and July are already spoken for as well as 2-3 weekends in August! Ack!

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 11, 2010 at 11:49 am

      That is the worst part of summer — it gets booked up WAY too quickly! We are so deprived of good weather around here, we all go nuts in the summer! 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Kat  |  June 11, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    I’m going to be singing that TGIF jingle for the rest of the day! We had a conversation about the line-up at lunch, so your post is quite timely.

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 11, 2010 at 3:45 pm

      I know so many people who have fond memories of the TGIF line-up. If you are a child of the late 70s, early 80s, it’s just what you DID on Friday nights!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

