Medallions

June 11, 2010 at 12:09 pm 6 comments

Forget the medallions of gold or platinum — I’d rather have a medallion of goat cheese!  I am pleased to announce that I did not forget the cheese on today’s salad.  Thank goodness for that, or we would have had anarchy on our hands! (Slight exaggeration.  Maybe).  Before this, for a morning snack, I had the rest of my Pro Bar.

This salad contains:

  • 1 large handful of baby spinach
  • A few “trees” of broccoli
  • 2 mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 avocado, sliced
  • 3 dried apricots, sliced
  • 1 tablespoon of pumpkin seeds
  • 1 tablespoon of walnuts
  • Topped with Mediterranean dressing

Labeled with my name for the staff room fridge.  Trespassers will be prosecuted!

The key is to incorporate a small amount of goat cheese into every bite.  Tricky, but not impossible.

For dessert, I cracked open a new dark chocolate bar.

Sublime?  I can support that.

I always check the Nutrition Facts to figure out how much about 100 calories-worth of dark chocolate is.  In this case, it was four squares.

A handful of heaven if you ask me!  I liked it a lot, and was surprised it was so tasty for being 80% cocoa  Do I dare try 90% next time?

Word from headquarters is that we are going to Spring Rolls for supper tonight.  I wanted something cheap (I was thinking Subway!) but Husband wants more of a sit-down meal.  Spring Rolls is not the very best Thai food ever, but it suffices.  What to have, what to have?  I am now going to spend my intermittent breaks from work analyzing the menu.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

TGIF Friday night in the big city!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  June 11, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    Mmmmmm chocolate. I’m not the hugest fan of Spring Rolls, but last time I went, I had the veggie pad thai with tofu and it was pretty good 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 11, 2010 at 1:50 pm

      I heard they make their pad thai with ketchup! I am thinking green curry. Or red? I am happy this is my biggest decision today 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Kat  |  June 11, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    I think that might be one of the prettiest chocolate bars ever!

    Reply
  • 5. Therese  |  June 11, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    I actually like Spring Rolls! LOL And there’s a possibility I may be going there tonight as well! Ha! The boy and I are going on a date for dinner and the movies but the restaurant will depend on the time of whatever movie we end up seeing.

    Oh goat cheese, I do love thee SO MUCH!!!!!!!! It’s an unhealthy obsession…

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 11, 2010 at 3:44 pm

      Too funny! Well, in Spring Rolls’ defense, I do love their ginger tea, and the curry I’ve had has been very good. Can’t beat the price, either!

      Goat cheese is probably at the top of my “cheese list”. I can’t get enough!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

