Sleep deprived because of…hockey?!

June 10, 2010 at 9:05 am 2 comments

I think it was because we had company, but I ended up staying up 1.5 hours PAST my usual bedtime in order to watch the Chicago Blackhawks win the Stanley Cup in overtime.  It is one thing to stay up late in order to watch something really awesome on TV, but a whole other thing to stay up late to watch something you only mildly care about.  Oh well.  It was an exciting ending, and I, for one, am glad hockey is OVER!!!

Ok, so ladies?  I totally went back last night and finished off that pizza!  I ate it in bed while blogging on my laptop.  Eating pizza in bed is fun!  I should do it more often 🙂

Anyway, for breakfast this morning, I made Overnight Oats!  If you haven’t heard of it, listen up!  Because it’s delicious and potentially life-changing.  You take either 1/3rd or 1/2 cup of each of rolled oats, a milk of your choice, and yogurt, mix it together before you go to bed, and leave it to coagulate or do whatever it does overnight in the fridge.  In the morning, you have a ready-made breakfast that only needs your choice of additional toppings!

We are severely lacking any type of fruit selection this late in the week (I do the weekly groceries on Saturday mornings), so I topped this one with apple!  Aside from a month-old orange sitting in my fruit bowl, this was my only choice!

Underneath the apple and granola, is a mess of Overnight Oat Deliciousness

This bowl contains:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 cup 0% Greek yogurt
  • 1 apple, diced
  • 1 handful of granola
  • 1 spoonful of almond butter

I usually make my Overnight Oats using 1/3rd of each of oatmeal/milk/yogurt, but evidently my subconscious stomach was hungry!  I thought for sure I wouldn’t be able to finish this entire bowl, but I did, no problem!  Baby must have been hungry after all of the hockey excitement from last night 🙂

On my way into work this morning, I stopped at the grocery store to buy some cherries because I reasoned with myself that since the cherry season is only so long, that I need to take advantage as much as possible.  The goal is to be mildly sick of the thought of cherries by the time cherry season is over.  This way, you have a year to recuperate before they return.  Makes sense, right?  I am excited to have some for a snack later this morning.

On that note, it is time to actually stop blogging and do some actual work.  Lame!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Making up for lost cheese Toss up

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  June 10, 2010 at 11:31 am

    I actually haven’t had ANY cherries yet! A shame, I know! I think I’ll have to remedy that this weekend!

    Mmm…overnight oats…

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 10, 2010 at 11:46 am

      Get thee to a grocery store! The cherries I’ve been buying aren’t local and I just saw them in the store for the first time last week, so don’t beat yourself up too much! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

