The forgotten cheese

June 9, 2010 at 12:12 pm 6 comments

Ok, I think I figured out my Cheesecake Plan.  I will make it tonight, but will be sure to wrap it up really well in Saran wrap so that it stays fresh and does not take on the odor of anything else that may be in my fridge over the course of the next few days.  I will also cross my fingers and hope for the best.  Sound good?

Well, today for a snack, I really thought I’d branch out and experiment in the realm of culinary delights by having…an apple.  Hey, ain’t nothing wrong with an apple!

Ain’t nothing wrong with me

I have noticed that buying organic apples is only a tiny bit more expensive than buying regular apples, so this is the one organic product I never have second-thoughts about buying (same with spinach).  Now if only they could lower the price on organic peppers, and I would be set!

For lunch today, I had my usual salad.  But horror of horrors — I FORGOT THE CHEESE!  I am not sure how this happened.  My salad-making skills are down to a fine science, I do it so regularly.  Usually, cheese is one of the last ingredients to go on, and I always reward myself with a small bite before finishing up.  But, last night, my mind must have been elsewhere so it was a cheese-less salad.  I suppose it could have been worse.

Maybe.

This salad contains:

  • 2 handfuls of baby spinach
  • 3 HULK strawberries
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 3 “trees” of broccoli
  • 2 mushrooms
  • 5 slices of cucumber
  • 2 scoops of bulgur (almost done!!!)
  • The last of my Kraft Fig Balsamic Vinaigrette

Yeah, I have just a tiny bit of bulgur left.  It will either end up in tomorrow’s breakfast, or be chucked.  I am bulgur-ed out!  But it was tasty and nice to keep a container in my fridge to add to so many dishes.  Maybe in a few weeks time I will do the same with quinoa.

Well it is a horrible, dreary, rainy day here in Toronto, but I am still planning on venturing out for a bit of reading at the library.  I like to break up the day that way!  I am still plowing through The China Study.  Now, as if deadly Greek yogurt wasn’t bad enough, now I am learning that babies who drink cow’s milk are at a higher risk of developing Type 1 diabetes.  Is there no hope for my beloved dairy products?!!?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

A Protein Bonanza Making up for lost cheese

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  June 9, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    Awesome looking salad! I love strawberries and spinach together! But you’re right, sadly, the cheese would have MADE it (goat cheese would be just as good I think).

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 9, 2010 at 12:49 pm

      Yes, goat cheese! I completely agree.

      Thankfully, tomorrow is another day 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Carrie @ I See Monsters  |  June 10, 2010 at 10:48 am

    I read The China Study in January and it FREAKED ME OUT regarding dairy products. I immediately dropped my daily Greek yogurt from breakfast and severely limited all other dairy products. (I’m mildly lactose intolerant so I didn’t eat too too much dairy to begin with, so this wasn’t too difficult.) And…you know what? I think not eating daily yogurt messed up my stomach even more! I think my body misses the probiotics. Also, I’ve read so many other books about health since then that extoll the virtues of dairy (primarily “Real Food” by Nina Planck…although I suppose her theory revolves around raw milk products) that I don’t even know what to think any more.

    Sigh. Nutrition is hard.

    Loving your blog, by the way!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 10, 2010 at 11:11 am

      I think this is what I need to hear right now. I think about a life without dairy and it appears very, very bleak. Without a bit of animal protein, I just don’t feel satisfied!

      I just checked out your blog and will be adding it to my Google Reader. You used to work in reality television? Big Brother is my favourite show!!!

      Reply
      • 5. Carrie @ I See Monsters  |  June 10, 2010 at 12:22 pm

        Ah, Big Brother. The company I used to work for produced it! I didn’t have much to do with the production, but I did get to go to the wrap parties which is the best party anyway. 🙂 I also write recaps of the show for it for Zap2it.com. So, yes, I am quite obsessed as well.

      • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 10, 2010 at 12:38 pm

        Colour me impressed! I have not missed a season yet (except for the year they broadcast in winter because of the writer’s strike). It is not summer unless I am sitting in my cold, dark basement watching BB! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

