Making up for lost cheese

June 9, 2010 at 8:00 pm 4 comments

Maybe there was a subconscious reason I forgot cheese at lunch today?  Perhaps my body was trying to save me a bit of cholesterol  and saturated fat knowing that I was about to embark on a cheesecake-making journey this evening?  Maybe!

When I got home from work, I knew that it would be a few hours until we’d be having dinner, since we were ordering pizza.  Y’see, the pizzas had to be ordered and delivered as close to the start of game time (we are talking hockey here) as possible.  Husband was having a buddy over to watch, and he wasn’t set to arrive until after 7.  I am used to having dinner around 5:30, so I needed an ALTERNATIVE PLAN.  Otherwise, I would have eaten half of the contents of my fridge and Husband would have found me in a coma with mayonnaise smeared across my face.  Or something.

I decided to make some green monsters for a pre-dinner snack.  Husband wanted one too.

These turned out to be some of the prettiest green monsters I’ve ever made.  In fact, they should be called pink monsters!  That sounds much cuter.

They contain:

  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 cup of frozen raspberries
  • 1 cup of frozen strawberries
  • 2 giant handfuls of baby spinach
  • 1 cup of unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 cup of 1% milk

This recipe is enough to make two gigantic smoothies.  Mine was so thick, I ate it with a spoon!

While we waited for our dinner guest, we cuddled with the cats (this goes without saying).

And I decided to go ahead and make that cheesecake!

Here are some progress photos:

In the back, we have the chocolate cookie crust and, in the front, we have the raspberry sauce!

Humina.

Three bars of silver?  Even better — three bars of cream cheese!

You have no idea how bad I wanted to lick the bowl.

Pre-swirl

Post-swirl

Whenever I saw a marbled cake or other dessert, I always thought it involved some high-tech culinary talent that I would never obtain.  Imagine my surprise when I learned that this marble affect just involves a simple butter knife!  So much wasted time with un-marbled food items!

FINALLY, our pizzas arrived for dinner (Confession:  I did eat a few bites of veggie ground round/black bean mixture leftover from last night’s dinner!).  Husband and his bud ordered a gigantic pizza with multiple toppings including bacon, sausage, and other vegetarian nightmares.  I ordered a small margherita pizza because I am a simple girl living in a complex world.  Yeah, that’s it.

I had four slices but the last two are seriously calling my name from the kitchen.  Seriously.

Before I peace out for the night, I noticed a few positive mentions of spinach and other leafy greens in the July 2010 issue of Chatelaine magazine that I wanted to paraphrase here for my fellow spinach-loving compadres:

1.  Chlorophyll, found in leafy greens like spinach, parsley and gardens cress, is a super-powered blood and liver cleanser.  Its been shown to bind to some suspected carcinogens like those found in tobacco smoke or charred meat and it possibly prevents them from being absorbed by our bodies.

2.  News out of New York’s Columbia University suggests that eating a diet high in brain-healthy foods may significantly lower your risk of getting Alzheimer’s.  Choose dark and leafy greens (like kale, rapini, and spinach), cruciferous vegetables (like broccoli and cabbage), fruit, tomatoes, fish, poultry and nuts.  The salad dressing is supposed to help too! (I am guessing the olive oil?).

Green monsters for all!


Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

The forgotten cheese Sleep deprived because of…hockey?!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  June 9, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    Oh no you didn’t! You ended up putting THREE of my very favourite things in ONE post?!?! *sigh*

    How did you NOT lick that bowl?!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 10, 2010 at 9:11 am

      Three of your very favourite things in one post? Hmmm…

      1. Pizza
      2. Cheesecake
      3. My husband?

      🙂

      Ok, I licked the bowl a little bit, even though pregnant ladies aren’t supposed to even look at uncooked eggs! I couldn’t resist, though. It was impossible!

      Reply
  • 3. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  June 9, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    I love your writing style – it’s really cute and always makes me laugh 🙂 The cheesecake and pizza both look delicious!

    I love spinach, it’s probably my favourite type of green so I’m really thankful it has so many health benefits as well. I need to start greenify-ing my smoothies again!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 10, 2010 at 9:06 am

      Aww, thanks! I try to be witty in my writing, but usually think it’s an epic fail! haha. It’s so nice to hear that it’s entertaining and not annoying 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

