I swallowed a watermelon…

June 8, 2010 at 6:51 pm 8 comments

Or a very large apple?  I think at 18.5 weeks, the baby is the size of a large sweet potato.

I am excited because today was the first time that someone offered me their seat on the subway because of my baby bump!  I even asked to make sure that was the reason and then giddily – and dorkily, I might add – said that was the first time someone had done that because I was only now starting to show.  For so long, I’ve felt like I’ve just had a growing beer belly, but this confirms it:  strangers don’t think I am just packing away too many Molsons.  They can actually see I am pregnant.  Hurrah!

Anyway, earlier today, before that pregnant-lady-excitement, I had an afternoon snack of HULK strawberries.

I thought that would be enough of a snack, but about 20 minutes before I left work, my stomach (or my sweet potato-sized baby?) grumbled for more, so I had four dried apricots and about 15 unroasted, unsalted almonds.


I arrived home to the sweet smell of taco stuffing simmering on the stove for dinner.  Instead of having my usual two soft shell tortillas, I opted for a taco salad.  I wanted to save my carbs for dessert!

My salad included:

  • 2 large handfuls of baby spinach
  • 2 scoops of veggie ground round mixed with black beans and taco seasoning
  • 1 scoop of fried mushroom, onion, and peppers in olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon of sour cream
  • 2 tablespoons of salsa
  • 1 handful of shredded cheddar cheese

Man oh man, cheese makes everything better!

I want to go to there

We just cleaned up the kitchen and I am about to head for a shower and some evening relaxation.  For dessert, I’ll have a sliced mango and a blueberry scone (hence, the lack of carbs at dinner!).

Question: I am bringing a white chocolate and raspberry cheesecake to a party on Saturday, but my only chance to bake it is tomorrow night. Do you think it will stay fresh sitting in my fridge from Wednesday night to Saturday? I have made this recipe before so I know it has the potential to be AMAZING.  Is there anything I can do to help the freshness factor? Husband says not to worry since there will be other cheesecakes at the party (It’s a meat and cheesecake-themed party!), but I want mine to be THE BEST.  Yes, I have issues 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Voluntary Simplicity A Protein Bonanza

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  June 8, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    Maybe I just overeat, but wouldn’t you want to eat even a bit more than normal because you are preggo? Like couldn’t you have a taco shell at dinner AND a scone for dessert?

    Ok, seriously, I really need to stop reading your blog. It’s giving me a complex. 😛 I think I ate more before lunch than you have all day 😛

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 8, 2010 at 8:14 pm

      I think I am eating really nutrient dense food and if I feel even a tiny bit of hunger, I eat! I’m glad I didn’t have the large tortilla shells (400 calories altogether, so really filling) because I am stuffed after dessert. I really wanted room for that scone!

      I am just eating much healthier now that I am keeping this blog. You will definitely see a piece of cheesecake on here this Saturday! Along with many large hunks of meat. Or not 😉

      Reply
  • 3. Therese  |  June 8, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    I LOVE your baby bump!!!! Exciting! I shall live vicariously through you as I don’t plan to have kids for another couple of years! Eek!

    Honestly, I don’t think three days would make a difference but I’m also not the person you should ask. I do think the corners may receed in the pan but I have no idea how long that would take! I just couldn’t make it three days before due to the fact that I would EAT IT ALL in one night! 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 8, 2010 at 8:15 pm

      I make no promises that I won’t have to make a second cheesecake between tomorrow and Saturday! 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  June 8, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    You and your sweet potato-sized baby look great 🙂 And I love taco salad! I have issues with eating tacos gracefully so salad is perfect because it has more greens and I get to eat it with a fork 😉

    I’d say that the cheesecake should be fine, because you need to let it set for a day or two anyway, right? So that’s really just one or two extra days. I’m no cheesecake expert though so you might want to get other opinions lol.

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 8, 2010 at 8:17 pm

      You’re right — the recipe says it needs to be refrigerated for at least 8 hours, so better to have it over-refrigerated than under-refrigerated, right? That’s what I’m going with 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Mel  |  June 9, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    OMG. I can not wait to EAT that cheesecake.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

