Computer-less blogging

June 8, 2010 at 8:17 am 2 comments

I was all prepared to write a post last night after my dinner out, only to discover that the husband had nabbed the laptop!  He helps a friend DJ at a club on Monday nights and takes the computer with him.  D’oh, I totally forgot!  So it was a blog-less evening.

Luckily, though, I managed to escape embarrassment and snapped a photo of my supper!  But let’s rewind to earlier in the day…

When I had an afternoon snack of cherries and about 20 almonds.  No more cherries left! 😦

I had about two hours to kill between work and my friend’s dinner, so I walk around Yonge and Bloor for a bit and then headed to a Starbs where I ordered a tall, unsweetened, black iced coffee and read more about how Greek yogurt is going to give me cancer, heart disease, and diabetes.

Having an iPhone makes taking photos about 4,000 times easier

As I thought, dinner at Lynn’s house was delicious!  I had some veggies and tzatziki (hardest word to spell of all time), a glass of apple juice mixed with sparkling water, and this delicious combination of cheese ravioli in pesto sauce and orzo pasta salad.  I got my carb on!

And I went back for seconds.  Because pesto sauce?  Is my manna!

For dessert, I had a cup of earl grey tea and 1 oatmeal raisin cookie and 1 peanut butter orange (!) cookie.

I definitely overdid it at dinner time.  It would have been worse if I had been left alone with that ravioli.  There is something about pasta and cheese that morphs me into CARB MONSTER.  I could have easily eaten 3, 4, or 18 servings of that dish alone.

Anyway, this morning I woke up and I was craving SPINACH.  It’s been two whole days since I’ve had any.  Addicted?  Possibly.

For breakfast, I had a two slices of whole grain toast with margarine, as well as a green monster composed of:

  • 1 cup of 1% milk
  • 1/2 banana
  • 2 giant handfuls of baby spinach
  • 1 cup of frozen, sliced strawberries

Not the prettiest GM in the world, but tasty!

So that’s that!  I have a Larabar for a snack which is always a treat, and more bulgur for lunch.  Yes, I am still working through it.  If there is one thing I hate, it’s seeing whole grains go to waste!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Knowledge is Power! Voluntary Simplicity

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  June 8, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Ha ha ha! I feel like I’m reading my own blog with your bulgur talk! Well, we gotta learn somehow, eh? I think I only have one more millet meal left in my container!

    Looks like an amazing dinner! I also ❤ pesto! I LOVE making it too!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 8, 2010 at 10:53 am

      I have never made pesto but it’s on my “list”! I’ve heard you can substitute pine nuts for walnuts to make it a bit less expensive/more healthy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

