Saved by coffee

June 7, 2010 at 8:43 am 2 comments

Happy Monday to you!  This artificial pep is brought to you by:  COFFEE 🙂

Honestly, I am not doing too badly for a Monday morning.  The sun is shining, I was greeted by only 12 emails this morning, and did I mention the coffee?

For breakfast this morning, I decided to switch up my summer fruit consumption by using an apple instead of cherries or strawberries.  I still have so much prepared bulgur to use up (why did I cook so much up?) so I had another cereal concoction.

This bad boy contains:

  • 3/ cup of cooked bulgur
  • 1/2 cup-ish of 0% Greek yogurt
  • 1 apple, diced
  • 1 tablespoon of raisins
  • 1 tablespoon of pumpkin seeds
  • I just realized I forgot cinnamon.  Cinnamon!  That would have MADE this dish.  Drat!
  • 1 spoonful of peanut butter

Not a bad way to greet the day

Well, I am about one week into maintaining this blog and I am enjoying it so far!  My eating has definitely become healthier and I am being more creative in my choices, especially with breakfast.  But one thing I am missing is more talk about frugality!  I think about ways to save money/save/budget all of the time, and I want to talk more about it on here.  I think I will instigate a new weekly feature called The Monday Run-down.  This is when I post my miscellaneous spending from the week before.  I am always fascinated to see how others’ spend their expendable income, so why not post it here?  Keep in mind that this only includes my “fun” purchases and not stuff like mortgage, weekly grocery shopping, or my pesky cocaine habit (Kidding!  You know I’m kidding, right?).

Miscellaneous Spending: Week of May 31st to June 6th

Coffee $1.49
$4 for Coworker”s “edible arrangement” $4.00
Compost bags $28.50
Small coffee $1.28
Dove dark chocolate $2.81
Small coffee $1.28
Small coffee $1.28
Small coffee $1.28
Iced latte $4.04
SATC2 ticket $13.00
Fresh dinner $22.00
2 Larabars and 1 Probar $6.50
Total for week $87.46

Not bad, but let me make a few comments:

1.  I have a coffee addiction!  I keep telling myself to make coffee at work, but whenever I try, I last about 3 days before I revert to my old habits.  This is a tough one to beat.

2.  This sweet teenage boy came around selling compost bags door-to-door and he said he was raising money for hockey camp!  I was sold…until I realized I just spent $28.50 on compost bags.  D’oh.

3.  Fresh is expensive!  But, oh, so good.

I hope you enjoyed peaking into my spending habits, you voyeur you! 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Sunday night…again? Knowledge is Power!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  June 7, 2010 at 10:23 am

    I DO love sneaking into other peoples’ lives like this, that’s why I love blogging! 😀

    Seriously though, I could use a blog like yours! My boyfriend and I are starting to need to sock away money for a house and our future together (because we both know we’re getting hitched at some point in the near future). In May we tried to track everything we spent and June is not just tracking everything we spend but as it relates to our incomes (now that he’s got a steady paycheque again). In July we’re going to sit down, go through it all and find out where we can cut back. Fun!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 7, 2010 at 10:46 am

      Blogging: Socially acceptable voyeurism 🙂

      I started keeping an Excel spreadsheet of my purchases in January and, aside from a few lazy weeks, have kept up with it! I get my jollies from budgeting which is both a good and bad thing (I can be obsessive!).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

