A three day weekend would be nice…

June 6, 2010 at 3:20 pm 4 comments

After waking up at the arse crack of dawn, I set to work on making the day’s eats:  a summer salad and a strawberry spice loaf.

I baked the loaf following the recipe almost exactly, except substituting the frozen strawberries with two cups of sliced fresh strawberries (I cut the recipe in half to make one loaf instead of two).  It turned really well!  Actually, I haven’t yet had a slice because I am too full from lunch, but the masses have reported that it is tasty (the masses being husband, mom, and grandma).

Sliced and ready to impress!

I only ended up cutting half the loaf, so I froze the other half by wrapping it first in saran wrap and then in tin foil.  I never used to freeze baked goods, preferring to keep them on the counter and eating them as fast as possible over the course of a few days, but I think the freezing method is probably a healthier option (this is where the little devil that sits on my shoulder says in a really snotty voice, “ya think??!”).  Plus, it’s fun to have a baked good craving and know you’ve got some that can be easily thawed.

The summer salad I chose to make is adapted from another recipe I found on http://www.allrecipes.com many years ago.  I tried finding it again but can’t seem to locate it, so here is my amended version.

California Summer Salad

  • 5 tablespoons of red wine vinegar
  • 4 tablespoons of lime juice
  • 3 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup of fresh cilantro
  • 1 teaspoon of sugar
  • 1 package of shelled edamame, frozen
  • 3 cups of corn kernels
  • 1 pint of grape or cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 1 can of black beans, rinsed and drained

1.  In a large bowl, whisk red wine vinegar, lime juice, olive oil, garlic, cilantro, and sugar.  Set aside.

2.  Bring a large pot of water to a boil.  Add frozen edamame, boiling for 3 minutes.  Add frozen corn and continue cooking for an additional 2 minutes.

3.  Drain edamame and corn and pour into the bowl with the dressing.

4.  Add grape tomatoes and black beans and stir gently.

5.  Cover and refrigerate for two hours, then stir and serve.

After my long morning in the kitchen and cleaning the house, I had a nap and could have stayed in bed all day.

But I needed to get up and at ’em so I revved myself up with a Death Monster.  No, this is not a Green Monster.  This Monster looked like he came out of a swamp.  It was almost black!

It contains:

  • 1/2 banana
  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 1 cup of almond milk
  • 1 cup of frozen blueberries

I thought it would create a brilliant purple hue, but no.  Black like death!

Our company arrived and we had  a nice visit.  The skies cleared enough to have a barbecue and husband re-created his famous (well, famous to my belly) pineapple + barbecue sauce burger combo.  I had my veggie cheeseburger along with some summer salad and my mom’s asparagus and carrot pasta salad (white pasta feels like a treat.  Remember when it used to be the norm?).

I was stuffed so I skipped out on the strawberry loaf for dessert, but I did have a coffee.

Dinner will likely be pretty light this evening.  I really want to spend the rest of the day doing nothing.  I want to read, watch tv, and go to bed early.  I need a few hours of pure, unadulterated laziness.

Source of picture

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Dreary day Sunday night…again?

4 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

