Caturday comes to a close

June 5, 2010 at 11:28 pm 2 comments

What a great food day!  Do you ever have a day when you are proud of your eating?   You just made good choices, never felt deprived, and ate more than your day’s share of green vegetables?  That’s what my day was like today.  Not to all pat myself on my back, but, well, I’m going to pat myself on my back!  Ok, my husband is giving me funny looks.

For a snack this morning, I made a green monster, but I forgot to include the banana!  I didn’t even realize it until much later, which just goes to show that a banana is not necessary in a GM.  You learn something new every day.

This one included:

  • 1 cup of unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 handfuls of baby spinach
  • More than a cup of frozen mango

This is Shrek green!

I drank this while folding laundry and admiring my cute cats.

Fully embracing the philosophy of “Caturday”

For lunch, I decided to use my bulgur as a base for a greek salad.  I was lacking olives, but made this with:

  • 3/4 cup of bulgur
  • 1 tomato, sliced
  • 1/4 cucumber, sliced
  • 1 ounce of feta cheese
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil, 1 tablespoon of red wine vinegar
  • A sprinkle of dried herbs and pepper

After lunch, I made my way downtown for a bit of shopping before meeting friends for a movie.  I went to Whole Foods Paycheck and admired the various organic crackers, yogurts, and baked goods but only left with two larabars.  I am mostly too cheap for Whole Foods.  This saddens me.

I took a little break near a Palestine/Israeli protest.  Just another day in Toronto!  I ate this DELICIOUS vega whole foods bar.

It was a bright, sunny day.  Good for life, bad for photography.

This bar has some incredibly healthy-sounding ingredients and I had my trepidations, but it was utterly delicious!  I loved the little crunchy bits in it.  I have never had a “health bar” like this before.

Raw food:  Not just for rabbits

Then I grabbed an iced non-fat latte from Starbs and waited to meet up with friends to go see SATC2.

I am getting better at taking photographs of my food in public.  Not so embarrassed.

Ok, still kind of embarrassed.

Sex and the City 2 was just OK.  It was fun and girly and escapist, but it was also long and kind of dragged.  One of my friends commented that it had no plot, and I can see that.  So I don’t know.  I guess I would just give it one thumb up.

For supper, we headed to Fresh!  I was excited and starving.  We didn’t have dinner until 7 which is late for this old early bird granny.  I ordered a holiday wrap which has “avocado and marinated tofu cubes with tomato, lettuce, cucumber, red onion, alfalfa sprouts, grated carrot and vegan mayo”.

And I decided to be completely reckless and wild and have a SECOND green monster today.  This time, made by Fresh!  This “fruity green” smoothie has broccoli, spinach, pineapple, mango, banana, orange, and greens +.  It was excellent!  Really sweet and filling.  I didn’t even need a dessert which is a feat unto itself.

A two green monster day.  Did you even think there was such a thing?

It is WAY past my bedtime.  My parents, grandma, and aunt are coming over tomorrow for a barbecue lunch so I’ve got a salad and dessert to make first thing tomorrow (and a house to clean which is the worst part.  Oy).

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Best day ever? Dreary day

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  June 6, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Fresh is my favourite restaurant in the city!!! YUM!!!

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 7, 2010 at 8:22 am

      Isn’t it the best? I just wish there were more than 3 locations. One next to my house would be nice! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

