The benefits of bulgur

June 4, 2010 at 8:34 am 2 comments

TGIF, my babies.

I thought, “What better way to end this work week than by eating some Middle Eastern grain for breakfast”.  That’s a typical thought process, right?

I’ve had this bag of Bob’s Red Mill bulgur sitting in my cupboard for ages, so I decided to finish it up last night.  I took 1 cup of bulgur and 2 cups of boiling water and let it sit in a container.  The water was absorbed by the grain in about an hour, but I let it continue to soak in the fridge over night.

Bulgur has a pretty stellar nutritional profile.  For 1/2 cup of cooked bulgur, it contains:

  • 76 calories
  • less than 1 gram of fat
  • 3 grams of protein
  • 4 grams of fibre

It has a subtle nutty flavour with a chewy texture.  Additionally, it is really cheap!  I bet you can buy it even cheaper in bulk (although I love Bob and his Red Mill!)

For breakfast, I mixed:

  • 3/4 cup cooked bulgur
  • 1/2 cup 0% greek yogurt
  • 1/2 sliced banana
  • Large handful of blueberries
  • Spoonful of almond butter
  • Drizzle of honey
  • Sprinkle of chia seeds

The drizzle of honey is what took this breakfast from GOOD to GREAT.

And the chia seeds provided a nice texture and some additional omega-3s and protein!

This cheap, easy, and tasty breakfast got me thinking about using other types of grains in a similar way.  You could use quinoa, barley, buckwheat, rice, millet, or traditional oatmeal to create a very similar dish.  Just prepare the grain the night before, refrigerate, and scoop it into your bowl the next morning.  Easy peasy!  And the best part:  INEXPENSIVE.  We are talking pennies per serving here, people.  And that just warms my frugal heart.

Another thing that warms my frugal heart (nice transition, huh?!), is this free view on my walk to the subway this morning:

Can you believe this is within the boundary of Toronto?  Of course, this gorgeous field is slated for the development of SEVEN condos sometime soon.  I love walking by it because it is loaded with red-winged black birds and I love to hear their chirping.  I have an affinity with my feathered friends, due to my name and all (hardy har har).

Well, have a great day!  See you at lunch time, at which time more bulgur is featured….ooooooohhh….

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

My blueberry nights From sweet to savory (and back again!)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  June 4, 2010 at 10:03 am

    OHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for the idea of having millet for breakfast! I’m just learning to cook with different grains and I wasn’t sure if I could soak it like that so THANKS! Also wondering if using the rice cooker would also work? I hear it works for steel cut oats which I’m excited about!

    Go figure that beautiful land will be built into condos. Toronto is quickly becoming “Land of Condos”.

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 4, 2010 at 10:13 am

      I don’t think you can soak millet the same way you can bulgur, but I think you can cook it like rice (1 part grain to 3 parts water) and it cooks into the consistency of rice. At least that is what Google is telling me. Haha.

      I am so bummed out about this development near my house! I love that field. A nice respite from all of the concrete!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

