From sweet to savory (and back again!)

June 4, 2010 at 12:39 pm Leave a comment

For a snack today, I couldn’t resist bringing one of the blueberry scones I made last night.   I made 12 in total and froze six.  With just me and the husband eating them, having that many scones lying around would mean BAD things (or perhaps it would mean a good thing, if only my taste buds and not my thighs are concerned!).  Six is a nice number.  I had one two last night, and one today.  That means there are 3 left for the ol’ hubbers.

For lunch, I had my usual salad, but unlike yesterday’s that was sweetened by strawberries, today’s was much more savory.  I added a whole tomato to my usual mix of green vegetables, and a bunch of bulgur to boot!  Topping salads with cooked grains is a delicious addition.  It gives you some extra carbs and calories to make the meal more filling, and it provides a great texture.  I didn’t put nuts on this salad because it just wasn’t needed.  Bulgur and feta is a particularly appealing combination.  Salty and nutty and chewy, oh my!

This salad has:

  • One large handful of organic baby spinach
  • 8 slices of cucumber
  • Three “tree”s of broccoli (How else to describe them?  lolz)
  • 1/2 an avocado
  • 1 tomato
  • A few spoonfuls of prepared bulgur
  • 1 ounce of feta
  • Topped with Kraft fig balsamic vinaigrette

Of course no meal is properly concluded without something sweet!  I had three squares of Dove dark chocolate which clocks in at exactly 100 calories.  Yesterday, I ate two of the squares but forgot about the third until much later in the afternoon.  Discovering that I had yet another piece of chocolate to eat was akin to finding a toonie (Canadian reference!  Booyeah!) in your pocket when you didn’t know it was there.  A great surprise!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

The benefits of bulgur Alo Gobi! Vegetable Biryani! NAAN!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

