Alo Gobi! Vegetable Biryani! NAAN!

June 4, 2010 at 6:39 pm Leave a comment

Is there anything better than coming home from a long, hard day at work and finding out your husband has ordered delicious Indian take-out for dinner which means not only do you get to eat immediately but you also don’t have to do the dishes that evening?  Possibly world peace would come close, but I doubt it.

For a snack this afternoon, I had 5 HULK strawberries sliced up.  They were past their peak and kind of mushy 😦

But the day improved when I found the subway ride home was practically empty.  Not only did I score a seat, but I scored a seat not crammed next to someone else.

No one ever looks very happy when riding public transit.

Husband picked out my dinner selection for this evening.  I trust his judgement (he married me, didn’t he?).  He ordered me:

  • Alo Gobi: Fresh cauliflower and potatoes cooked with spices ($4.99)
  • Vegetable Biryani: Large grain basmati rice cooked with spices and fresh vegetables ($3.99)
  • Naan:  Heaven in the form of bread ($1.00)
  • Lettuce and cucumber salad with mystery green dressing (Free with purchase!)

Hello, my name is perfect.

The Alo Gobi was particularly delicious.  I found a couple of large hunks of sweet potato in there!  Sweet potato makes everything better (Third lesson to be learned from this blog).

I ate this while watching Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives.  A feast for the senses!

Tonight we’re watching the classic movie Office Space. Anyone who has ever worked in an office — nay, anyone who has ever worked with other people — can personally relate to this hilarious piece of comedic genius.

Source of picture

I am ready to kick back with a cup of tea*, my main man, the kitties, and maybe some dessert (Blueberry tart?  Ice cream?) and enjoy watching every disgruntled employee’s fantasy come true.  Good night!

*Even though I always mention drinking tea on this blog, I very rarely follow through.  Weak!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

From sweet to savory (and back again!) Best day ever?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

