Strawberry-arama

June 3, 2010 at 12:27 pm 6 comments

I just noticed that I’ve been eating a lot of strawberries lately (and not just any strawberries; HULK strawberries!).  I remember this happening last year too, when I also kept a food blog.  I am not complaining though!  You can buy three clam shells of strawberries for $5.00 and two pints of blueberries for $5.00.  That is a great deal and aligns with the whole frugal ‘n’ fit gig I’ve got going on around here.

Another theme within the frugal ‘n’ fit panoply is the idea of PLANNING.  To eat well, you must plan (or else you will find yourself at Shoppers Drugmart in the throes of hunger buying Zesty Doritos, notthatIspeakfromexperience).  To live frugally, you must plan (planning how to spend your extra income, planning your budget, planning on how you are going to be living on a beach in Tahiti when you are 55 because you are so good at planning!).  Sometimes I feel like a really boring nerd for being such a planner.  I am not spontaneous in the least.  But when I take a look at the fruits of my labour (eating well, a stable savings account), I give myself a self-congratulatory pat on the back (making sure that no one is looking!).  It’s worth it, all this planning business.

This morning, I PLANNED to try one of these Vector energy bars I found in my basement for a snack.  That sounds suspicious — finding it in my basement? — but it’s from an old box that’s been on our “food shelf” (where we store canned goods) for a while and that Husband must have bought it.  One of these bad boys clocks in at 230 calories, a bit more than your average packaged granola bar.  It contains 9 grams of protein and 7 grams of fat.  Honestly, it appealed to me because of its density and its flavour.

It looked just like a chocolate bar, but I knew that its vitamin and mineral content would give it that “healthy” taste so common with energy bars.  I actually don’t mind that taste, but it ain’t no chocolate bar!

I thought for sure it would keep me full beyond my usual lunchtime of 11 am (I do everything early!) but my stomach still grumbled at 11 am.   What a rip off!  I had a salad packed in my lunch.  It contained:

  • Baby spinach
  • Sliced cucumber
  • broccoli
  • 1/2 avocado
  • two HULK strawberries
  • small handful of walnuts
  • about an ounce (?) of feta cheese

I served it with Kraft Fig Balsamic Vinaigrette.

Money shot!

And because vitamin-infested chocolate just doesn’t suffice, I opened up this Dove dark chocolate bar for dessert.  It’s divided into three portions of 200 calories apiece, but I like to keep my chocolate-consumption around 100 calories per serving so I broke the serving in half.  It was still a satisfying amount.

I love Dove chocolate.  It only recently showed up in Canada.  That was a great day.

Well, that’s it for now!  I think tonight I am going to do some baking with blueberries, so stay tuned for that excitement.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Burritos for breakfast My blueberry nights

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  June 3, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    I LOVE Kraft Fig Balsalmic Dressing! It is soooo good! And spinach + strawberries = love

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 3, 2010 at 3:34 pm

      The fig balsamic is definitely my favourite in that line of dressings! It goes so well with strawberries. I bet it would “perk up” almost any fruit!

      Reply
  • 3. Ali @ Redhead Reports  |  June 3, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    I love Dove chocolate too! I think it’s my absolute favorite – and I love the little sayings on the inside of their mini-wrappers!

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 3, 2010 at 7:02 pm

      I got such a kick out of the little sayings on the valentine’s chocolate hearts I bought from Target one year. They were so cute and corny. Delicious chocolate + cute corniness = one happy consumer 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Roberta  |  June 4, 2010 at 8:16 am

    Was wondering where you purchase your Greek Yogurt. Live in Mississauga can’t seem to find any.

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 4, 2010 at 9:16 am

      I just discovered it a couple of weeks ago at Loblaw’s. It’s sold along with the other Liberte yogurts. It’s expensive, though — almost $5!. Hopefully it’s just a matter of time before Canada gets all of the Chobani/Fage/Voskos options that the States have.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

