My blueberry nights

June 3, 2010 at 7:43 pm 3 comments

So if today I was all about strawberries, then tonight I am all about blueberries.  ‘Tis the season to overdose on plentiful fruit, am I right?

For an afternoon snack today, I had an apple and a few dried apricots and walnuts.  This is a great combination:  fibre, sweet, and protein.

I knew exactly what I wanted to eat when I got home from work:  A green monster and my leftover curried rice with asparagus and cashews.  Sounded perfect to me.

I decided to use up the rest of this bag of frozen tropical fruit that’s been sitting in my freezer since God knows when.  God, why did it have to be so freezer burnt?  Oh well, still edible!

But I have to say — it made one nasty looking green monster!  More like a grey monster, or a putrid monster.  Probably the least attractive GM I have ever created.  In it was:

  • 1/4 cup coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup 0% plain yogurt
  • 1/2 cup 1% skim milk
  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 cup of freezer burnt tropical fruit

Ugly, but tasty!  Like so many healthy foods.

To the curried rice, I added some tamarind chutney that I found in the bowels of my fridge.  I think it was leftover from a party I held last July.  Ummm.  It has vinegar in it, so that acts as a preservative…riiiiiight?  Please say yes.

Well I knew FOR SURE I was going to bake blueberry scones.  The sky is blue, the grass is green, and I was going to bake blueberry scones this evening!

I used my favourite recipe for blueberry scones found in the excellent cookbook Vegan with a Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz.  If you are a vegan or have vegan tendencies, you must get this book!

I modified the recipe a bit to fit my non-soy-milk-owning needs.

BLUEBERRY SCONES

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons baking powder
  • 1/4 white sugar, with extra for sprinkling purposes
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 1/4 dairy or soy milk with 2 teaspoons of apple cider vinegar mixed in and left to rest for a couple of minutes
  • 1 cup of fresh blueberries

1.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees

2.  In a large mixing bowl, stir flour, baking powder, and sugar.  Create a well in the middle and pour in oil and milk/vinegar mixture.  Once mostly mixed, fold in blueberries.

3.  Drop by large spoonfuls onto a greased cookie sheet.  Sprinkle with sugar.  Bake for about 12 minutes or a bit longer.  I like under-baked baked goods so I bake for the minimum amount of time.

4.  Lick the spoon and don’t worry about salmonella poisoning because these are egg-free!

These scones are so good.  They appeal to crazy-looking pregnant ladies especially.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Strawberry-arama The benefits of bulgur

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. amber  |  June 4, 2010 at 11:14 am

    those scones look delicious!! you could just use 1 1/4 cups of buttermilk in that recipe, right? because the vinegar (or lemon juice) is just curdling the milk, making it thicker. vegan and non-dairy recipes use that trick to replace real buttermilk. i may have to purchase some buttermilk and get to work on some scones this weekend!! yum.

    Reply
    • 2. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  June 4, 2010 at 12:21 pm

      Duh, you are totally right! Buttermilk would definitely work. I wonder if it would be tastier? I mean butter + milk = tastiness!

      It’s a very simple recipe. Just tastes like soft dough and blueberries. YUM.

      Reply
  • […] head for a shower and some evening relaxation.  For dessert, I’ll have a sliced mango and a blueberry scone (hence, the lack of carbs at […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

