The Morning Routine

June 2, 2010 at 8:32 am Leave a comment

I start work around 8:00 am so my morning routine has been fine-tuned to ensure I eat a satisfying breakfast, get a 25 minute walk in, and don’t lose my mind while doing so.

My alarm is set for 6:30 am, but with the early rising sun and an energetic feline named Bootsy, I’ve been waking up about 15 minutes earlier.  Last night, I prepared some overnight oats to greet me in the morn.  I mixed 1/3rd cup of rolled oats, 1/3 cup of 0% greek yogurt, and 1/3 cup of 1% skim milk in a cereal bowl and left it in the fridge overnight.

This morning, I added 2 HULK-sized strawberries, a handful of blueberries, a handful of granola (for the crunch factor), and a spoonful of almond butter to complete this satisfying breakfast.

I leave home around 7:00 am and walk to the subway which usually takes me about 20 minutes.  It’s a nice way to get some exercise in without really thinking too much about it.  Before getting into work, I usually grab a small coffee.  I used to have grande-sized coffees from Starbucks but pregnancy encouraged me to cut down (I just had this visual of my little fetus yelling up to me “Yo, mom, do you mind cutting back on the caffeine?  I’m all jittery down here!”).  Now I find that small is usually enough.  The cheapest coffee around these parts is from McDonald’s.  $1.28 for a small coffee!  You can’t beat that.

Now it is time to ask an aesthetic question about the blog:  Do you think these photos should be larger? I have them sized medium, but they could be larger.  Let me know!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Baked Pasta No cavities!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

