Oh hi, Blog!

May 5, 2011 at 8:35 pm 5 comments

Oh yeah, I have a blog!

Yesterday was Henry’s six-month birthday which got me thinking about the past 1/2 year and how I survived this winter with a newborn.  I was quickly reminded that much of my sanity was restored by the Internet, and not just from celebrity gossip sites.  Indeed, it was restored from spewing my thoughts onto here!  So I should at least give my faithful readers a recap of these past two months! (Although I was surprised to see that my blog is averaging about 50-70 hits a day, much more than it ever did when I updated regularly — I’m not going to think too much about that one!).

1.  As stated before, Henry is six months old!

He continues to grow much too quickly.  His hair is so long I often give him a faux hawk, and he’s blonde!  Not sure how to explain that one to my brunette husband ;)  He loves to grab EVERYTHING and put it in his mouth.  He has decided that pulling  mommy’s hair is the coolest thing ever!  His sleep has gotten moderately better, although we are still up about 3-4 times a night (I think it’s because he loves me so much.  This is what I tell myself at 3 am).  He has started solid food!  We tried sweet potatoes yesterday.  Exciting stuff!  Life is never dull with a baby, that is what I know for sure.

2.  I cut myself some bangs!  Clearly this is almost as important as the progress of my child’s development.

Pictures of me alone no longer exist!  It’s ALL HENRY, ALL THE TIME (Can you blame me?)

3.  I continue trying to be frugal and fit.  Key word:  TRYING.

Due to some money we received from the government, both from income tax assessments and an energy audit, I am almost at my $20,000 savings goal.  I am extremely proud of the money I’ve been able to save since I first got frugal in January 2009 after reading Your Money or Your Life, but I do worry A LOT about what to do for sweet, sweet cash come November 2011 when the government stops conveniently inserting money into my bank account every other week.  Sometimes I think about getting a part-time job, but due to my husband’s fluctuating work schedule, we’d still require flexible child care.  I think about taking care of a another child full-time, although this would provide us with just enough money to pay our expenses with not much left over.  Plus, do I really want to spend my days entertaining two babies/toddlers!?  Sometimes the answer is yes, sometimes the answer is a booming, ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME?  I really have no idea what to do, so if you have any suggestions, please fire away!  Until then, I will dream about the multi-million dollar book deal I receive from simply updating this blog.

I am down to 170 pounds, which is 9 pounds less than when I got pregnant.  I would still like to lose 10 more pounds because I am a girl and that is what we do (“just 10 more pounds lost and then I will be happy!”).  But I am feeling pretty good about my post-baby body.  It helps that my husband makes comments like “Kate Middleton is pretty but too skinny”.  GOD BLESS YOU, DEAR HUSBAND.  God bless you so much.

4.  Spring is (kind of) here and Summer will soon arrive!

I am totally stoked about the change in weather, however rainy it has been, and I have grand plans for spending many of my days walking with Henry around the neighbourhood and to the beach.  I didn’t realize how difficult this winter was until we started getting out more in March.  During winter, I’d often go a full week without leaving my house!  Now I crave the fresh air and sunshine and am thankful I am but a 10-minute walk from McDonalds, where I can purchase an iced coffee for $1.05.  Life is good with affordable coffee within walking distance.

I hope to update more regularly here.  I have a few thousand more dollars to save and 10 pounds to lose, so I might as well write about it!  Plus there is always that impending book deal to attract…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Hiatus? Shoes for your butt. What will they think of next?

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  May 5, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    Oh hi, Robyn!

    HOLY SHMOLY he’s so big!!! My ovaries are currently swelling in cuteness. Must.Make.Babies…

    I’m so glad you gave us an update and you look GREAT for having a six month old! Good on ya! You’ll have to pass on your secrets! Is it the sleep deprivation? I bet it is…

    Nice to see you and the wee guy happy and healthy and hope to read more soon! AND figure out a date in which we can have dinner or something!

    Reply
  • 2. Robyn @ Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  May 6, 2011 at 8:30 am

    So happy to see your still reading me, Therese! I’ve been reading you but have been slacking with the comments.

    My weight loss can be attributed to sleep deprivation mixed in with the fact that someone depends on my bodily fluids for their nutritional sustenance. I’m actually a bit concerned what will happen when he stops nursing!

    We should definitely meet for dinner sometime! Warning: Henry’s presence may cause your ovaries to actually explode…until I tell you more about my sleep deprivation lol

    Reply
  • 3. Erika  |  May 6, 2011 at 9:32 am

    Glad youre back!

    Reply
  • 5. sars  |  May 15, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    on a fluke i thought i’d check if you were blogging again…woo hoo! entertain me at work! lol :) i suppose once i get a new job i will actually have to work, but i shall enjoy it while it lasts :P

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

