Meteorological Spring

March 1, 2011 at 10:14 am 8 comments

Hark!  ‘Tis March!  This means that Spring is a mere three weeks away.  If you want to get all meteorological about it, we are technically in Spring as Meteorological Spring is March 1st – May 31st.  It’s a beautiful, sunny day.  Henry has his four-month doctor’s appointment today, so I hope we can walk there instead of drive (love living in Toronto!).  There is a McDonalds nearby so we can stop for some free small coffees afterwards.

Since it’s the first day of March, I must re-cap on the goals I made for February.  I truly embraced my New Year’s Resolution of failing by not successfully completing these goals.  So, yay?

1.  Drink a Green Monster every day — FAIL

I pretty much drank one every day for the first half of February, but by the end, I was enjoying a mashed banana in my morning oatmeal rather than having it in smoothie-form.  I also got kind of sick of cleaning my blender every day.  These are my excuses and I am sticking to them!

2.  Lose 2 pounds – WINNING! (phrase stolen from Charlie Sheen)

I would go weigh myself to confirm (or deny) this, but I have a stomach full of oatmeal and a pair of jeans on.  Everyone knows that jeans easily weigh 10 pounds on their own (don’t try to tell me otherwise).  The last time I weighed myself, I was around 174, which is a 3 pound weight loss, so let’s go with that.

I’ve been eating my usual amount (possibly more as I finished a whole bag of Zesty Doritos in a mere two days all on my own!), but have been walking more.  Henry continues to be my personal trainer with his demands for rocking/lifting/swaying.  I don’t even need to lift weights anymore!

3.  Check out the community/early years centre in my neighbourhood – DRAW

I haven’t gone there physically, but I did check out their list of programs online.

4.  Try a week of vegan eating – WINNING!

Success!  This is the goal I am most proud of accomplishing.  I had a fun week of eating tofu and drinking almond milk and experimenting with recipes.  I haven’t used cow’s milk for my oatmeal or Green Monsters since.  I felt really great during my week of vegan eating, which is not to dispute the fact that I felt pretty great while eating cheesy pizza afterwards too!

5.  Put $500 into my high interest savings account – WINNING!

I sure did.  See, this is why I get excited about free McDonalds coffee.  It’s all about frugal pleasures!

6.  Sell something in my Etsy Shop – FAIL

I added another listing to my Etsy shop, but still no dice!  I continue to crochet dish cloths, though, with the idea of giving every man, woman, and child I know one for Christmas this year.  ‘Tis the season…to wash dishes?!!??

So two FAILS, three WINNINGS, and one draw.  Not bad, I don’t think!  I haven’t made a list of goals for March, though.  I’d just like to go for more walks, try some new recipes, and have fun with Husband and Henry.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

The Oscar Bowl Hiatus?

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  March 1, 2011 at 11:07 am

    Sounds like a pretty awesome month and your wins were total wins!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  March 1, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    charlie sheen wanted to lose 2 pounds as well???

    ummmm as i reminded you last month, your goal is to fail. so you are failing at failing because you won three things above. i think you need to go spend all the $$, eat a chocolate cake and maybe a steak (is that the opposite of vegan eating?) LOL

    Reply
  • 5. Clare  |  March 1, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    Thankyou for the Spring arrival information! I needed that–it’s about this time in winter that I start to seriously consider emmigration. The early years centres are lovely when you have one or two babies/toddlers. I LOVE any type of story/circle time activity but unfortunately my little boys have turned out to be the “rambunctious” sort so they don’t work as well for us now :(
    Green monsters are over-rated…they started to gross me out after a while–try to have something green with lunch and dinner and you’re good to go.

    Reply
    • 6. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  March 2, 2011 at 10:02 am

      Yeah, I really need to GO to the early years centre. Today a new friend with a baby close in age to Henry is coming over. I’m looking forward to it!

      Reply
  • 7. Erika  |  March 2, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    Its good youve stuck to some of your goals. I cant believe its March already! Very anxious for Spring to get here. Great job on the weight loss, you and I weigh the same! LOL!

    Reply
    • 8. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  March 4, 2011 at 8:57 am

      I just read that it’s supposed to be a colder than average Spring. Let’s hope that’s a lie!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

