Have you had your oats today?

February 25, 2011 at 8:34 am 15 comments

Since I’ve been home this winter, taking care of this little guy…

I’ve been able to make delicious oatmeal for breakfast almost every day.  I’ve made Carrot Cake Oatmeal, Apple Cake Oatmeal, and, now, Banana Bread Oatmeal (my current obsession!).

1 cup of almond milk or 1/2 cup soy milk and 1/2 cup water

1/2 cup rolled oats

1 ripe banana, mashed

Handful of walnut pieces

Sprinkle of shredded coconut

Have I mentioned that I’ve been buying TWO bunches of bananas at the grocery store each week to feed my Green Monster and now Banana Bread Oatmeal habits?  Someone call Dr. Drew!

I love hot oatmeal, especially since I now know the trick is to cook them in milk rather than water.  Oats are so disturbingly healthy for you and so cheap!  I think I should appoint oatmeal as the official grain of the Frugal ‘n’ Fit blog.

1/3rd cup of oats contain:

102 calories

2 grams of fat

3 grams of fibre

4 grams of protein

49% of your Daily Value of manganese.  Mmmmmm…manganese

Along with small amounts of many other vitamins and minerals as well

I’ve seen oatmeal at Starbucks for a while now, although have never tried it.  I have a hard time buying a processed food that I can easily “process” myself for much cheaper.  But if I travelled more or lived a more expensive lifestyle, I’m sure I’d appreciate having it as a breakfast option.  When wanting a quick breakfast when you’re out and about, usually the only option is a muffin that will leave you hungry one hour later or an egg-and-cheese sandwich that will sit in your stomach like a rock.

I recently read an article by Mr. Foodie himself, Mark Bittman, about how McDonalds now offers an oatmeal option (turn your speakers down before clicking on this link)!   McDonalds describes their oatmeal like this:  “We take delicious 100% natural, whole-grain oats and combine them with brown sugar and a touch of cream. Then we get fruity, with diced fresh apples, dried cranberries and two kinds of raisins.”  Sounds like this breakfast has six ingredients:  oats, cream, brown sugar, apples, dried cranberries and raisins.  But, as Bittman points out, “A more accurate description than “100% natural whole-grain oats,” “plump raisins,” “sweet cranberries” and “crisp fresh apples” would be “oats, sugar, sweetened dried fruit, cream and 11 weird ingredients you would never keep in your kitchen.”

Without a doubt, making your own oatmeal is the healthiest, cheapest option available.  But when out and about and needing a quick, delicious breakfast, I’m still glad that Starbucks and McDonalds offer these not-as-healthy-but-still-better-than-egg-and-cheese options.  Now we just need Tim Hortons to get in on the oatmeal love and we’ll be all set.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Kale Chips The Oscar Bowl

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynn  |  February 25, 2011 at 9:05 am

    I’m eating them as I read your post!

    Reply
  • 3. Amanda C  |  February 25, 2011 at 9:12 am

    I’ve been loving not-quite-overnight oats lately, made with oats, yogourt and whatever fruit I have hanging around. If I’m organized, I get them ready the night before, if I’m not I throw them together on my way out the door and enjoy once I get to work. I had no idea McDs had them! That will be a good option for futur road trips, when an egg and cheese sandwich isn’t always the best option, but there’s nothing other than McDs.

    Reply
    • 4. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  February 25, 2011 at 10:28 am

      Do you heat your oats up? I like them hot in the winter and cold in the summer. Oats are so versatile!

      I love an egg and cheese sandwich every so often, but oats definitely make me feel better after the fact.

      Reply
      • 5. Amanda C  |  February 25, 2011 at 10:50 am

        I will occasionally eat warm oats, but not all that often. I just don’t have the time or energy in the morning to do so. Also, I like them cold/room temp, sort of like cereal (which I usually eat with yogourt as well instead of milk).

  • 6. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen  |  February 25, 2011 at 9:14 am

    Clearly you’ve been inside too long, because Tim Hortons has had oatmeal for a while now ;) Check it out:

    http://www.callieflowerkitchen.com/2010/11/01/getting-back-into-it/

    Reply
    • 7. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  February 25, 2011 at 10:29 am

      Oh my, where have I been?!!? Obviously not at Tim Hortons! This is good to know (your version with banana and almond butter looks amAzing).

      Reply
  • 8. Carrie @ TV and Dinners  |  February 25, 2011 at 9:24 am

    I love Mark Bittman, but that oatmeal article kind of makes me crazy. Yes, McDonald’s does things to the oatmeal it doesn’t need to…but McDonald’s job isn’t to hold our hands into making better food choices. Their goal is to sell product, and quite honestly they need to make that product taste good to the masses in order to sell it.

    I got a free coupon for the oatmeal so I tried it, without the brown sugar and cream. It was perfectly fine, if a bit too maple-y, and the apples and dried fruit were a good touch. (Fresh, uncooked apples in oats? Delicious!) I definitely like having the option to eat that if I’m in a hurry, rather than have some sort of gross processed meat and American cheese sandwich. (End Carrie’s soapbox rant of the day.)

    Reply
    • 9. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  February 25, 2011 at 10:32 am

      When I started writing this entry, I was going to be all anti-McDonalds but then I saw the nutritional profile and it didn’t seem so bad. Everyone knows that McDonalds isn’t the healthiest, but for them to offer oatmeal is better than nothing! A lot of times when I’m travelling (especially with others), the only option is McDonalds. At least now I don’t have to be a Debbie Downer and ask to eat somewhere else.

      Oh, and your soapbox rants are always welcome here :)

      Reply
  • 10. Erika  |  February 25, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    My attempt at oatmeal doesnt taste as good as yours looks. And Tim Hortins has had oatmeal a while now… you need to get out more! LOL :)

    Reply
    • 11. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  February 27, 2011 at 1:10 pm

      Try making them with milk and cooking on low heat for about 8 minutes. Perfection!

      Reply
  • 12. Kristen @ Change of Pace  |  February 26, 2011 at 9:24 am

    I LOVE Bittman! He”s so real. Oatmeal always sits heavy in my belly but I do love the flavor and chewiness of rolled oats!

    Reply
    • 13. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  February 27, 2011 at 1:10 pm

      Maybe that’s why I like oatmeal so much — very filling, too!

      Reply
  • 14. Michelle  |  February 27, 2011 at 10:34 am

    I love the blanket. ;)

    Reply
    • 15. Frugal 'n' Fit!  |  February 27, 2011 at 1:11 pm

      So does Henry! Some very talented person made it for him :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

