Archive for July 31, 2010

Caturday Continues

I spent most of my day with these little guys…

That is one worn out rug.  But it was free.  Frugal!

So I baked the zucchini loaf and watched a movie all before 9 am and then I proceeded to clean out my refrigerator which is a feat never accomplished before.  To answer some of your questions: Yes, I have lived here over a year.  Yes, I am very lazy.  And, yes, it feels great to have a clean fridge!  I threw out old jars of olives, empty jars of jam, spoiled applesauce, and moldy hummus.  It was pretty disgusting.  I am so glad it is done!

For lunch, I had an Arnold Wheat thin topped with microwaved eggs (2 whole eggs), sliced tomato, and cheese.  Delicious!

I also had a slice of zucchini loaf.  Maybe half the loaf is gone already?  But I’ll never tell!

I spent the early afternoon in my backyard with my iPhone, a stack of old magazines, a library book, and a Chocolate Cherry Bomb!  Perfection, thy name is a mid-summer day.

Ironic that the magazine talks about “more energy now!” because I only lasted about an hour before I headed inside for an afternoon nap.  Did I mention I got out of bed at 5:39 am? 🙂

I nibbled on chocolate, trail mix, and more zucchini bread (!).  I did some laundry.  I stared into the baby’s crib (my current favourite hobby.  14 more weeks to go!).  Hubby got home and we lazed around.  I began to crave pizza even though husband wasn’t hungry at all.  Ordering pizza alone is no fun, plus it is neither fit nor frugal.  So I decided to create my own pizza substitute using the minimal amount of groceries we have.

First, I sauteed some zucchini, broccoli, and onion in herbs, garlic powder, and olive oil…

I microwaved a couple of sundried tomato tortillas and then stuffed them with this veggie mix and some cheese.  I heated up a small bowl of marinara sauce for dipping purposes.  Ta da!  Cheap, easy, pizza-craving-satiating dinner!

For dessert, I had a small bowl of chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream, aka best ice cream ever.

Tonight we are watching Dexter, that show about the likable, sociopath serial killer.  Good times!  Who knows what tomorrow will bring?  I am hoping something tasty…

July 31, 2010 at 8:54 pm 3 comments

Walnut Raisin Zucchini Bread

Apparently, I never got the memo that you are supposed to SLEEP IN on Saturday mornings.  I had been awake for  a good 20 minutes already when I spotted the time on my clock…

Yes, this time occurs TWICE a day

I woke up content but work was on my mind, so of course it began to reel off a list of tasks I need to remember to do.  I just forfeited the idea of sleeping any longer and decided to face the day.  The sun hadn’t even risen yet!  The days are already getting shorter, which is actually appealing to me this year…

I decided to have some blueberries and cottage cheese for breakfast to tide me over…

Pre-dawn photography:  Kind of sucks

So that I could make some zucchini bread!  Check out the size of this monster:

More like the size of an eggplant…or Sasquatch.

My recipe called for 1 cup of grated zucchini which ended up taking only about 1/3rd of this guy.  What to do with the rest?  I am thinking chili for dinner…

I had a hard time finding a healthy recipe for zucchini bread so I decided to take the highest rated one from http://www.allrecipes.com and then amend it to make it healthier.  Next time, I would substitute 1/4 of the oil for applesauce.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have any on hand.  What kind of healthy baker do I think I am with no applesauce on hand?

Walnut Raisin Zucchini Bread

  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 large egg or 2 small eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup grated zucchini
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
  • 1/2 cup raisins (optional)

1.  Preheat oven to 325 F and grease a loaf pan (or use a silicone one which requires no greasing!)

2.  Combine the flours, baking soda, baking powder and cinnamon in a small bowl.  Set aside.

3.  Beat the egg(s), oil, sugar, and vanilla in a large bowl.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet and stir until just mixed.

4.  Stir in the zucchini, raisins, and walnuts.  Pour mixture into the loaf pan and bake for 50 minutes.

5.  Let cool for 10 minutes and then remove from the pan.  Cut a slice (or two!) and serve with a steaming cup of hot coffee.

Verdict?  DELICIOUS.  It had a crispy outer layer but was soft and moist on the inside.  I loved the walnuts and raisins in it, too.  In a couple of days’ time, this will be good warmed in the toaster oven and smeared with nut butter!

After baking, I also watched Bright Star.  So much accomplished all before 9:00 am!  Of course, I will be ready for bed around 7 pm tonight.  How to spend the rest of the day?  I have no idea.  Looks like a beautiful one out there, though…

HAPPY CATURDAY!

Source of picture

July 31, 2010 at 9:13 am 6 comments


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other subscribers

Welcome!

What happens when you love to eat healthy (and some unhealthy!) food, love to live frugally, and love to write? You start a food blog, of course. Of course!

Eating well and living frugally does not always come easy, but Lord help me, I am trying! This blog will detail my endeavor to live the best life possible. This will include pictures of my cats, odes to almond butter, and the general miscellany that makes up my life. Enjoy!